Greatest. Pizza. Ever.

So last weekend in Boston, my mom and I went to a place called Figs and had our first-ever fig & prosciutto pizza. Well, I’ve been thinking about that pizza ever since Thursday April 22 and I pondered how easy it would be to replicate. Since it’s been rainy all day here in the burgh and I felt like being creative, I decided to attempt this marvelous pie. The result? Absolutely amazingly delicious (AND pretty frickin easy, too)!

I made my own pizza dough, using Jenna’s recipe for The Best Pizza Dough (I followed the recipe exactly ingredients-wise, but made it in my breadmaker). Since it was around 1 pm and I hadn’t eaten lunch, I made myself a little cheese pizza that somehow ended up in the shape of a turtle. It was pretty good, but it certainly wasn’t as good as my much-anticipated fig pizza.

Doesn't he look like he's trying to crawl off the plate?

Mid-afternoon, I headed to Wal-Mart to get some necessities, including figs… but when I returned home, the fig container was already opened inside! Grrr! It just wasn’t worth the gas or the hassle to return them, so I went to a nearby grocery store to get replacement figs.

I didn’t take exact measurements, but I’m sure this would be easy to adapt to your own tastes. So without further ado, I present my Fig, Goat Cheese & Prosciutto pizza.

  • 1/4 recipe pizza dough of your choosing
  • 4 dried figs
  • 1 c. boiling water
  • 2 Tbsp* balsamic vinegar
  • 1-1/2 tsp* honey
  • 1/2 – 1 Tbsp* extra-virgin olive oil
  • ~1/4 tsp minced garlic cloves
  • ~1/4 c.* Italian-style shredded cheese mix
  • ~1 oz.* goat cheese
  • 2 sprigs fresh Thyme
  • 1 pinch dried rosemary
  • 2 slices thin prosciutto

Prepare pizza dough and let sit for at least 1 hour.  Preheat oven to 450*. Boil 1 c. water, place figs into bowl. Pour boiling water over figs, allow to sit and soften for about 10-15 minutes. [Place pizza dough into oven to get a good start on a crispy crust.] Combine balsamic vinegar, honey, oil, and garlic in blender/Magic Bullet/food processor. Once figs have softened, chop into small pieces and add to vinegar mix. Blend again until mixture is mostly smooth, with some small chunks of fig. Remove dough from oven, spread fig/balsamic mixture on dough. Sprinkle both cheeses and the thyme & rosemary onto the pizza. Bake in oven until cheese starts to brown, then remove again. Add slices of prosciutto to top of pizza, then bake until prosciutto is just warm. Serve and enjoy.

*Approximate measurement

Vegetarian/Pre-Prosciutto

The Real Deal

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Greatest. Pizza. Ever.

  1. Pingback: Blast From The Past | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. N says:

    I’ve never tried figs but this looks and sounds delicious – prosciutto and goat cheese make anything taste good!!!

    Like

  3. heypgh says:

    that looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

