Kaleidoscope

Kaleidoscope by lindschv
Kaleidoscope, a photo by lindschv on Flickr.

Tonight I finally got to go to one of the most anticipated restaurants on my “restaurant wish list” – Kaleidoscope Cafe in Lawrenceville. I’ve seen a lot of reviews about the place (all positive), so I don’t feel the need to add a lengthy version of my own, but I can say that I had both good food and a good time.
For an appetizer, we got the duck cannoli, which I wasn’t overjoyed about… but that’s only because I don’t really like duck. That said, the duck cannoli was pretty tasty with the mix of flavors – tender duck + citrus + sweet cannoli shell + white chocolate cream sauce. It was definitely interesting. I chose the Cow Jumped Over the Blue Moon pasta, which was also really interesting – broad noodles with a gorgonzola cream sauce that tasted almost like alfredo if not for the distinct gorgonzola finish. The pasta came with some beef and the star of the dish – a sweet onion confit to cut the richness of the gorgonzola sauce. The dish overall was really good (I’m pretty excited for my leftovers), but I could eat those onions all day.
My friend got the Gnocchi Nirvana, of which I stole a bite. The gnocchi was really good, and not at all what I was expecting. It was definitely one of the more unique dishes I’ve had in a long time.
Finally, for dessert we split a piece of the flourless chocolate torte (or tarte – it was dark and I didn’t get a good look at the name of the dessert). It was very very rich – I likely couldn’t have finished it on my own. It was okay, but to be honest, I still had the sweet onions on my mind.
All in all, it was a fun night and I’m glad I finally got to cross Kaleidoscope Cafe off of my restaurant wish list… but maybe I’ll keep it on there so I remember to go back again. ;)

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kaleidoscope

  1. FoodisMyZen says:

    I love you said you chose Cow….made me smile

Leave a Reply

