Gravy Train

If there’s one food I can eat and eat and eat like nobody’s business, it’s Thanksgiving dinner. Okay, fine, so Thanksgiving dinner is traditionally comprised of multiple food components – turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing, etc. But mix all of those things up into one dish, and I display an impressive amount of stomach fortitude.

In the 10 months or so that the BF and I have been dating, I’m pretty sure he’s come to doubt the nickname “Human Vacuum.” He’s obviously seen how excited I get when food is mentioned, and I almost always have some restaurant I’d like to try… but in terms of the sheer volume of food I can shove in my mouth, I think he doubted me. Most times we go out, I end up taking half my meal home with me, so he thinks I’m a wuss who can’t even eat a normal-sized entree.

Not anymore.

For years, I’ve wanted to try Mad Mex’s Gobblerito, and for years, I’ve never gotten there in time. So when it was 3:30 and neither of us had eaten lunch yet, I oh-so-subtly hinted at going to Mad Mex. While someone (::cough cough:: BF) is afraid of the Gobblerito, I was excited and didn’t even look at the rest of the menu. When it came to the table, I think both of us were a little surprised – it wasn’t nearly as big as we thought it would be (that’s what she said!). It was standard Mad Mex burrito size, which generally means that I’d end up taking half home, but it looked kind of lonely just sitting there on the plate by itself, adorned only with a ramekin of cranberry sauce and two tiny bites of romaine that appeared to be added as an afterthought.

But still, I was excited, so I dug in. Let me tell you, this was heavenly. If you love Thanksgiving dinner, you’ll love the Gobblerito. It’s turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and corn shoved into a burrito tortilla and smothered in gravy. Add on the cranberry sauce, and you have a relatively balanced meal (sort of).

About halfway through, I said I thought I could finish it. When I was just a few bites shy of done, the BF looked over at me with amazement on his face. Then I finished my Gobblerito before he finished his burrito, and he was surprised… and then I started finishing off the rest of his celery. As he finished up, I said, “I could probably still eat another half of a Gobblerito” and I thought he might vomit. I’ve never been so proud of myself. 😉

Obviously, I was a fan of the ole Gobblerito, but it’s hardly the healthiest meal. I looked up the nutrition facts afterwards, and I can see that my Gobblerito indulgences will likely be limited to once or twice a year. But still, it was fantastic, and the stuff of my dreams. I think I could eat an entire second one right now… why doesn’t Mad Mex deliver?! 🙂

Gravy Train | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

