Get Dirty

You’ll have to forgive me if I sound a little out of it – I’ve just spent the evening watching Rudy for the very first time and I’m a hot mess of happy tears. I might be the last person of my generation to see it, but I can now report that it was worth the wait. Whatta movie.

Also worth the wait was tonight’s dinner. It involved cutting/peeling/roasting a butternut squash and then making more things before I got to the finished product. The poor squash has been hanging out in my house for a couple weeks now, and I’ve lacked all sorts of time and energy to do anything with it. Lucky for the squash, and unlucky for me, I’d forgotten I had a bye week for volleyball tonight, so I finally had the time to devote to the sad little squash.

I used this recipe for Butternut Squash Mac ‘n Cheeze and made a mix of zucchini noodles and whole wheat noodles to mix with the sauce. I slightly modified the “cheese” sauce just a little – skim milk instead of almond + I omitted the cornstarch – and it turned out pretty great.

While I was happy with the finished uber-healthy zucchini + whole wheat cheesy pasta, I suddenly realized something right before I dug in – I’m not vegan. Never in my life have I ever been vegan, so why on earth wouldn’t I have a little cheese on top of my cheesy pasta? Duh. No brainer. So I dirtied up my clean eats and applied some cultured cow (or sheep, as it were) to my dinner.

Getting dirty was a most excellent decision, I must say. 🙂

Get Dirty | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

