Kegs n Eggs

Last night, I tried to be proactive and searched for something to fill my morning with today. The problem with most Saturdays (for me) is that I have to go to work in the afternoon, but I’m usually too worn out, too tired, or too lazy to do anything in the morning. Also, even when I’m motivated to go do something, it seems like there is just SO MUCH STUFF to do and I get overwhelmed. And so I end up wasting the entire morning and early part of the afternoon at home until it’s time to go to work.

Not today, though, my friends! Thanks to my research last night, I found something super fun to do in the morning – brunch! But since the BF was out of town, I had to go by myself. 😦 Sigh. Someone’s gotta eat all the bacon; it may as well be me…

Twitter informed me that the Square Cafe Brunch Truck was going to be at one of my favorite places – The Brew Gentlemen. I’ve written about my love for BG before, and I seem to end up there a few times a month since it’s practically in my backyard (like, 5 minutes away by car). But never before have I gone to BG for brunch. There’s a first time for everything!

I grabbed a seat at the counter near the door and then chose my beers. I opted for sample-sized glasses of the Leona’s Spice Cream Sammich tripel beer and (of course) the Pumpkin Walnut Pancake wheat beer. They actually tasted kind of similar, but I’m happy to report that both paired nicely with the Brunch Truck food. Speaking of which, I got a pretty standard breakfast – scrambled eggs (whites didn’t seem to be an option), bacon, and a pumpkin walnut pancake. Oh, and ketchup. You might notice that I added a wee bit of ketchup. Just a tad. 😉

I’ll be honest, I’m not really a fan of Square Cafe – the times I’ve been there, the food is just okay and it doesn’t seem worth the crazy line out the door and the inflated prices. I’ve been fairly happy every time I’ve gone there, but it just seems like such a hassle. Well, with the Brunch Truck (which is co-branded as Uncle Charley’s… like, the sausage people), you can get Square Cafe food without the ridiculous wait. The prices are still not cheap, though – my plate cost $8 and I was hungry again within an hour. I thought part of the appeal of food trucks was supposed to be lower prices due to lower overhead costs compared to a brick-and-mortar store? I understand the costs involved with the food, the workers, the truck, the gas, and whatnot, but how expensive can it really be to make scrambled eggs (just ‘meh’), bacon (good, because BACON), and a single pumpkin walnut pancake? I will say this, though – the pumpkin walnut pancake was delicious. I’d absolutely get it again, and I wish there’d been more of them instead of just the one.

If nothing else, the novelty of drinking beer and eating breakfast out of a truck was enough to get me out of the house today, and it’ll likely get me out of the house in the future. Next time I might try the chicken sandwich the Brunch Truck was offering – grilled chicken, brie, and caramelized apples. The only reason I didn’t get that today was because it was just served on a regular bun. Serve it on a homemade biscuit and I’m so there.

So far, Saturday is off to a pretty decent start. Let’s hope it stays that way. 🙂

Kegs n Eggs | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

