Zenith

The BF and I had a very busy day today, but luckily we had a chance to fuel up at brunch. We ended up at The Zenith in the South Side, and I’m kicking myself now for not going there sooner.
We weren’t sure exactly what to expect when we walked in. I’d read about the antiques shop part of the building, so I knew to expect that, but that was about it. We were greeted by a friendly host, and then offered drinks. I liked that there were pitchers of water on the table; I always feel a little guilty making someone run back and forth for me, especially if I’m really thirsty. The atmosphere of the restaurant is probably best described as warm and eclectic… And communal. We were alone at our table for the first 5-10 minutes, but then another couple was seated with us. No big deal, and the host had warned us about that as he led us to the table.
There was a small menu for brunch, but it worked out like this – $11.50 gets you coffee or tea, an entree, and access to the salad bar. I chose the Polomalu wrap for my entree and the BF got the cinnamon french toast. I made full use of the salad bar before my food came, though, and by the time it had arrived, I was left wondering what the point of the entree was. That’s because the salad bar is so dang good. I think everything on the salad bar is vegan, and it’s not your typical salad bar with mixed greens and a paltry assortment of raw vegetables. It’s a long table filled with stainless steel bowls of delicious vegetable salads – think vegan macaroni salad, black bean & corn salad, peanut noodles, quinoa veggie salad, etc. The BF was a big fan of the dill hummus; I was a fan of absolutely everything. I basically filled up on random salads and then got a little sad when my wrap arrived – that meant my salad bar time had come to an end. My wrap was good, but honestly I wasn’t hungry for it after the salad adventures.
The only thing I didn’t like (and I totally understand why this is the policy) is that they don’t offer to-go boxes. As someone who rarely finishes an entire restaurant meal in one sitting, I felt very wasteful leaving about 3/4 of my burrito to be thrown out. Like I said, I get why that policy is in place, but I just felt weird and guilty about it. Other than that, though, I absolutely loved my brunch at The Zenith, and I hope the BF liked it enough that he’ll be willing to go back. 🙂

IMG_0218.JPG

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

