Cold Comfort

If there was ever a day when I didn’t want to go to volleyball, it was tonight. Normally I get pretty psyched to go play, but with playoffs in 2 leagues, longer games in a third, and more running in my life, I just felt like I needed a night off. Plus, I spent most of the day in bed, feeling like I had been run over; whether that’s due to overexertion or illness, I’m not sure yet. But either way, skipping the game would have been ideal tonight.

But it’s playoffs, and if there’s one thing I refuse to do, it’s to miss a playoff game unless I absolutely cannot make it due to forces outside of my control. Illness or soreness does not fall into the category of things I can’t control. Mind over matter. As long as nothing is broken and I’m not vomiting, illness is not a reason to miss a playoff game (in my opinion). And so I went… and we lost. But really, we hung in there. We were playing one of the top-ranked teams and we only had 4 players (vs the other team’s full court of 6). I think we lost the second game 25-22, which is actually pretty decent. I really couldn’t hate on that; it was a respectable score.

To drown our sorrows, so to speak, some of us went out for a drink after our game. I wasn’t so into it since I didn’t feel 100%, but it’s been a loooong time since I’ve hung out with these people, so I went. We stopped at Roland’s in the Strip and I got an Old Fashioned. It was STRONG. I was not. My entire body became numb after about half of the drink. Had I eaten dinner beforehand, it probably wouldn’t have been so bad, so I guess that’s my fault. But geesh, if you’re looking for a way to numb all your aches and pains, allow me to recommend Roland’s.

Here’s hoping tomorrow is a little less painful, and that I’m able to get a little rest. 🙂

Cold Comfort | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

