It Rubs The Lotion On Its Skin

I tried a little DIY experiment for some excitement today. A little while ago, I read about lotion bars on Pinterest and I was intrigued. I hate using lotion because it seems to squirt everywhere and then my skin feels all greasy afterwards, but when it starts to get cold (like today), I definitely need it. So I had a go at a homemade lotion bar recipe using coconut oil, shea butter, beeswax pellets, and vitamin E oil.

You basically put the ingredients into a bowl (or a mason jar) and put that in a pan of boiling water until the oils/butters melt completely. Once they’d melted, I added a little honey and a bit of lavender essential oil and then poured into a Pyrex container to cool. I really just added the honey to mask the smell of the shea butter, but it seems to have made the consistency a bit too sticky. When I cut the finished product into “bars,” they sort of crumbled a bit, which I’m also attributing to the honey. They don’t look pretty in the slightest, but they do seem to work.

So far, I like that the lotion bars leave a sort of heavier moisture on my skin. An hour or so later, and I feel like it’s still there and it’s still moisturizing. It is, however, a little sticky (honey), and it doesn’t melt as easily as I’d like… I think this is due to adding a wee bit too many beeswax pellets. But the bars do what they’re supposed to do, and they’re easy to apply.

I think I’ll enjoy using them this winter, but if I can’t find a way to make them without them crumbling, I won’t be able to use them for my original intention – stocking stuffers. Any suggestions would be appreciated. 🙂

It Rubs The Lotion On Its Skin | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

