Nuts For Meat

After a loooong day on-site with a customer, I was more than ready for a night out. So the BF picked me up and we headed to Butterjoint in North Oakland.

The place was pretty crowded, so we put our name on the list and waited. Not long after, a seat at the bar became available and that was good enough for us. We started with the pork & pistachio pâté with cornichons, and it was easily one of the highlights of my day. The pâté was amazing, and when I stacked it on the toasted slices of baguette with the whole-grain mustard and a slice of cornichon, I was in Heaven. I want that taste, or at least something similar, as part of my last meal on Earth. That, and the maple bacon zeppole from E2.(<– I might never stop talking about the zeppole. Ever.)

We both got burgers for our meals; mine was topped with gruyère and bacon. The burger was good, but I don’t know if it was as good as Eleven’s. The bacon, though, was a solid winner. It was thick-cut and well-done, just the way I like it.

Butterjoint wasn’t all that bad. I’d had it built up in my mind as a real hipster joint that was overhyped, and while I still think it’s a bit overhyped, I did enjoy my meal there. Plus, it wasn’t nearly as hipsterish as I’d expected. Nary a whiff of hipster, I dare say. The bartenders and servers were all very personable, and they know how to make a good drink. I also appreciated that even though the restaurant was rather busy, no one seemed particularly overwhelmed, or in a hurry (but in a good way). One of the bartenders even took some time to chat with us, and it wasn’t even awkward (pretty much a first for any conversation in which I take part). I’m sure if Butterjoint hangs around a bit, we’ll be back… if for no other reason than to grab a drink and some more pâté. 🙂

Nuts For Meat | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

