Red Eye

In what is quickly becoming my favorite part of the week, the BF and I headed out to brunch this morning. Because I work a lot, the BF and I usually don’t get to go out on Saturdays, and if I’m working on Friday too, then we hardly get to see each other for that week. But working Sundays is rare (though not nonexistent), and I can usually count on at least seeing him then. Plus, it’s great timing-wise – it allows me to sleep until 8:30 or 9 after not getting to sleep until after 2 (or 3:30 last night), and then I get to eat both breakfast and lunch at the same time. It’s such a win. I wish brunch could happen every day.

Today we tried 1947 Tavern, which is right across the street from my beloved Harris Grill. The server was quick to bring us coffee and water, both of which were much-needed after such a late night last night. After browsing the menu and inquiring about the bloody mary bar, I placed my order for the Chicken & Biscuits meal and the BF got the Home Skillet. The prix fixe brunch special allows for 2 bloody marys or 2 mimosas, but we opted for just one and the server said that was fine… but after the BF paid, he noticed that we were charged for the prix fixe anyway… so that was a little odd. Also strange was the fact that the server was talking up the cheddar bacon biscuits as an appetizer… but when our meals arrived (they both came with a biscuit), we both thought the biscuits tasted freezer-burnt and kind of tough and hard, like they’d been thrown directly from the freezer to the oven without thawing and they’d gotten too rough around the edges.

The rest of the meal was pretty good, though. The fried chicken on my plate was a little unflavorful, but it tasted fine enough to eat. The bacon fat potato hash with red eye gravy was the highlight of the meal. My meal was also topped with crispy homemade onion rings, and they were quite tasty. I didn’t even make it through a quarter of my meal before I had to stop – there’s a TON of food on the plate/skillet. For someone who was so hungry before we got to the restaurant, it seems my eyes were much bigger than my stomach. What I could have done with more of was coffee, but the server never asked if we wanted refills. Of all days, today was a day when I could have used a hefty refill or two.

Honestly, I’m not so sure how I feel about coming back to 1947 Tavern. I really wanted to like it, but the stale biscuits + the tasteless chicken + the weirdness with being charged for the prix fixe when we didn’t order that + the lack of coffee refills (which seems to be a breakfast/brunch prerequisite)… I just don’t know if I’d be willing to go back. There are so many great brunch options around town, and it doesn’t make sense to pay that much for something that’s just mediocre when you can pay the same (or less) for food that’s much much better. Who knows, though, maybe it was an off-day, or maybe they had some new staff… without having intimate knowledge of a restaurant, it’s hard to tell what the real issues are. But for the time being, I think it’s safe to say the BF and I will be choosing other brunch spots around town.

Red Eye | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

