Time Warp

Back in November 2004, my roommates Carrie and Allison dragged me along to my first ever viewing of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. We were in Paris, and we were going to some little theatre I’d never noticed, on a street I’d walked down a million times before. As we stood outside and waited to get in, they wrapped a hot pink boa around me and told me, “Don’t think, just have fun.” Great advice in most situations (I’m a chronic over-thinker), but especially apt when going to see RHPC for the first time.

I wasn’t prepared for all the actors acting out the scenes on a stage, and I wasn’t prepared for rice being thrown (or anything being thrown, for that matter). But I came out of the theatre and immediately regretted not going sooner – it was such a blast!

Sadly, it has taken me almost exactly 10 years to go see it again, mostly due to the fact that I work almost every Saturday. But as luck would have it, we got out of work an hour or so early tonight, and I finally got to cross this one off my 14 in ’14 list. Full disclosure, though – The Oaks Theatre is temporarily shut down, so we went to The Hollywood Theatre in Dormont instead. A little annoying to get to with the tunnels closed, but I made do and met the BF there after I was done restocking the bar.

The big difference I noticed between the French version of the show and the American version is that there was a lot more shouting during the American version. Both versions were screened in English (contrary to what you might expect while in France), but the audience tonight was following along with the supplemental script that’s provided online. So if you’d never seen the movie before (like the BF’s friend who joined us), you’d probably have no clue what was going on. But it was a lot of fun, and I have to give the volunteer actors all the credit in the world – girls were running around in skimpy lingerie totally unselfconsciously… and the girl who was cast as Brad tonight went topless, save for a pair of pasties. That takes guts.

I’d definitely recommend going to see the movie/stage production sometime, even though it does start late (doors open at 11:45pm). It’s super fun, and it’s a great way to wind down an evening. 🙂

Time Warp | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

