Against The Wind

While everyone else in the office was whining about the cold and trading weather forecasts, I was bundling up to brave the elements for tonight’s run. 2 pairs of pants (1 was running tights), 3 tech shirts, a zip-up fleece, and a hat later, I was ready to go… except I forgot to bring along gloves. Luckily, the sleeves on one of my shirts were extra-long and I was able to cover my knuckles until I warmed up.

When I set out, I didn’t realize that I’d be running against the wind for over half of the journey, and every time the wind blew, I felt like I was doing tackle dummy drills. When I got close to the Point, a gust of wind came at me from the side and knocked me off balance a bit, which wasn’t fun, but it really sucked for the poor duck in front of me that got swept off the sidewalk and into the freezing water. The poor thing was very surprised and didn’t seem to understand how he’d ended up wet. 🙂

And then it was sleeting or snowing, I’m not sure which, and my eyeballs were being pelted by what felt like shards of glass. I remember when I had a scooter, I had a pair of anti-glare glasses that I wore at night to protect my eyes from wind and rain (and one time, hail)… I’m thinking I need to dig those out of storage and take them with me on inclement weather runs. Wouldn’t that be quite a sight – a girl dressed all in black, running/dancing/skipping/grapevining along the river, wearing anti-glare glasses… 😛

Against The Wind | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

