Cure For What Ails You

Since the BF has been out of town for most of the past week, and I’ve been working seemingly non-stop, it felt good to sit down to a nice dinner together tonight. Plus, we were celebrating our one-year anniversary tonight, so I think we were both extra-happy with our choice for dinner – Cure in Lawrenceville. We’d been trying to get in there for quite a while, but they fill up pretty quickly with reservations. But we walked in at 5pm, right when they opened, and we were able to snag a couple seats at the counter. Because of our seats, we were able to see a little dinner theatre while we waited – we got to see the chefs doing their thang. It was a good time.

We each started with a drink – mine was called simply ‘Cup’ – and then waited for our starter, the small salumi plate. We’ve been searching for a charcuterie plate that’s as amazing as the one we got at Olympic Provisions in Portland, and while we’re still chasing it, the one at Cure wasn’t half bad. I can’t even tell you all the meats that were on the plate, but the picture of it is above. Everything about it was good, but Olympic Provisions still holds the keys to our meat-loving hearts. We got to see the composition of the larger salumi plates, and I wouldn’t be entirely surprised if we ended up back at Cure someday for the larger one. As the BF said at dinner, he would be happy eating charcuterie for every meal. I tend to agree.

For our meals, he chose the Spaghetti Carbonara and I chose the Heritage Farm Chicken Confit. I was considering the Carbonara for my meal, but when the BF got his, I was glad I’d chosen the chicken instead – the Carbonara looked good, but it came with a full dippy egg on top. I realize Carbonara is made using egg yolks, and I’ve accepted that, but I don’t think I’d be able to eat it by seeing the actual egg yolk exploding. I know, I’m weird… but I’m just not a yolk girl. Give me egg whites any day, but please keep the yolks away from me. He really liked it, though, and that’s all that matters.

In spite of my cringing at the BF’s meal, my chicken was friggin incredible. The chicken was encrusted in pecans and served with large chunks of sweet potatoes, sweet & sour lacinato kale, meyer lemon yogurt, a pistachio-capers-olive sauce, and topped with honey. It all sounds kind of strange together, but it was amazing. It’s rare that I eat an entire meal and don’t come home with leftovers, but this was one of those meals. I just couldn’t stop eating it once I’d started; every single bite of it was delicious.

We didn’t save room for dessert, but I think it’s safe to say both of us would like to go back at some point. Our meal was probably one of the best we’ve had in Pittsburgh, and I’m happy to report that Cure lives up to all the hype. Definitely a great place to go, especially if you’re celebrating a special occasion (and even if you’re not). 🙂

Cure For What Ails You | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

