Cranberries

When I was younger, I wouldn’t eat cranberries if you paid me. I think it had something to do with their weird shape; I thought it was gross that they retained the shape of the can. Then one year, I was late to the Thanksgiving celebration since I was working, and someone took care to make me a plate. On that plate, they’d put some cranberries. I was feeling brave, so I gave them a try. I’m sure you see where this is going – I really liked the taste and now I love cranberries.

A few years ago, I discovered how easy it was to make homemade cranberry sauce, and my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner was born. I’ll eat cranberry sauce from a can if I have to, but I much prefer the homemade kind now that I’ve had a taste of them. Plus, they’re ridiculously easy to make – open bag of fresh cranberries, rinse, put into a pan with some water, sugar, and orange juice (I dig the orange-cranberry flavor), boil until the cranberries start to pop, and then let cool. It literally takes more time and effort to make a sandwich than to make homemade cranberry sauce (my sandwich-making skills have slowed since leaving Sheetz almost a decade ago).

Anyway, since our boss let us out at 1 today, I had some extra time to make this year’s cranberry sauce. And it was a good thing, too – I have two trips to pack for, and tomorrow kicks off a whirlwind month of travel, work, and some fun events. I can use all the extra time I can possibly get. 🙂

Cranberries | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

