The Big Cheese

I don’t want to jinx it, but this might be the greatest business trip ever. No traffic getting to/from airports, one very minor delay, good flights, shopping, eating, drinking, hot tubbing… yeah. It’s pretty awesome so far, and I’m not even on the leg of the trip I’ve been looking forward to the most.

If you haven’t guessed from yesterday’s post title, my tweets, and the picture above, I’m in sunny Wisconsin! And it actually is sunny. A bit frigid for my liking, but sunny nonetheless.

My very first stop after getting my rental car was to a place called Houdini’s Escape Gastropub, for some much-hyped brunch. Have an out-of-town business meeting on a Monday? Go a day early and get brunch! That’s my latest brilliant idea.

At Houdini’s, I snagged a bellini, some candied bacon, and maple-sage sausage gravy and biscuits. I’m not kidding when I say the sausage gravy and biscuits were some of the best I’ve ever had – the gravy was a little sweet thanks to the maple, and the biscuits were super fresh. The candied bacon wasn’t half bad, either. 😉

I did some driving and a few hours’ worth of shopping to kill time, found my hotel, and then started researching dinner options. Turns out I’d confused myself and thought I was staying in one city, but the hotel reservation (and the meeting tomorrow) is in another. Oops! Luckily, the other city was only about 20 minutes away, but I’d done some pre-departure restaurant research on the wrong city. Whomp whomp. It didn’t matter, though, because although the new city has much fewer options for dinner, I was able to find a decent place.

I walked into Bar 430 right smack in the middle of the Packers game, and realized how delusional I was to have thought that Steelers fans are intense. I was a little intimidated by all the yelling going on, but it all worked out in the end for the Packers. And when they won, the bartender proclaimed, “Shots for everyone, on the house!” For my very first house-bought shot, I chose Fireball, mostly because that’s what everyone around me was getting. So that was a fun experience. 🙂 And then for dinner, I got two tacos since they were on special, and the most amazing things ever, cheese curds. I can’t believe Wisconsinites dare to keep these golden nuggets of Heaven to themselves; they’re too good not to share with the rest of the world! They’re hot, melty, creamy, and just downright delicious. Talk about comfort food… I don’t think I could have felt more comforted if I were in my own bed in pjs. I know I’ve seen them on a menu or two in Pittsburgh, but I’ve never tried them – mainly I’ve thought that I should save my first experience for the real Wisconsin deal. But now… game on.

So it’s been a pretty fabulous trip so far, and it’s just getting started. Tomorrow I have a lunch meeting with one company, and then I get to roam the Wisconsin countryside until I hit my second location, about an hour and a half away. I’m actually really psyched about it.

I used to think that my customers in Wisconsin were all on some sort of cheese-induced crack (must be the curds) for living in such a cold climate… but from what I’ve seen so far, Wisconsin is a really awesome place.

The Big Cheese | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

