Surrender

Continuing our whirlwind tour of seemingly all the BF’s friends, tonight we headed to Kelly’s in East Liberty to meet up with someone who was technically a coworker to both of us, though I’ve never met him. You see, the BF and I have an interesting story – we went to high school together and had a lot of the same friends, yet never talked to each other. Then we worked at the same place at the same time – for YEARS – and never once encountered one another (this is where his friend worked). Finally, we’ve lived less than a mile away from each other for the past 4 or 5 years. Plus, a bunch of people in my family know people in his family… It’s creepy and strange and funny, all at the same time. 

So in many cases, the BF’s friends were at one time my coworkers, or else we hail from the same place. At least that gives me some common ground with his friends, right?

Anyway, we met up with one of his friends tonight and grabbed a drink. I’d only been in Kelly’s once before, many years ago, and I just didn’t really see the point of the place. I’m not much of a hipster-lover, and although I love new and exciting restaurants and bars, I don’t buy into trendy places. Kelly’s, in my mind, is both trendy (dive bar) and hipster-heaven. That first visit so many years ago, I pretty much just hated the place in full; I found it lacking any redeeming qualities.

Tonight was a little different, but maybe that was just because I know the BF likes the place. The service was ok, and the drinks were fine, but I’m sorry, I still don’t understand the hype about Kelly’s food. I got the mini-mac (we all did) and the buffalo chicken bites. I’ve heard so many people rave about the mac and cheese, but really, I just kind of thought it was ‘meh.’ Don’t get me wrong, I’d eat it again, but it’s most definitely not my favorite mac and cheese I’ve had in Pittsburgh. It doesn’t even crack the top 5.

Who knows, maybe all the hot sauce I eat has messed up my taste buds, but I’m still not a fan. That said, if the BF wants to go there again, I’ll certainly go; I no longer hate the place. But will it be the first place I think of when asked of a place to have a drink and some food? Doubtful. Still, I’m glad I surrendered and gave it another shot.

Surrender | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

