Hamming It Up

Defrosting a gigantic bag of leftover ham in the week between Christmas and New Year’s was not my best idea ever. For starters, I’d just finished eating ham at Christmas. Add into that the leftovers from Christmas, and the pork (and leftovers) from New Year’s, and I’m kind of “pigged” out. So my timing definitely could have been better.

But things being what they are, there was ham to be defrosted and eaten, and darn it if I wasn’t prepared to get the job done. So quiches and soups were made, portioned out, and frozen for easy lunch access, and my egg whites all week have had specks of ham in them. But there was about a half cup remaining and I’m sick of ham omelets, quiches, and soup… so I turned to my good friend The Internet and found a recipe called Hurry Up Ham Carbonara. I’d tried it once before and it came out really well.

This time, I halved the recipe and made some healthier changes – no oil, only about a TBSP of butter, low sodium broth, and about half the cheese. Also, I only had elbow noodles, so no cappellini for me. The finished result wasn’t quite as good as I’d remembered (the butter and cheese probably had something to do with that), but it was rather tasty. More importantly, it finished up the ham, so after I finish the leftovers tomorrow, I should be done with ham for a good long while. 🙂

Hamming It Up | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

