Make It A Double

We finished out the Winter Session of Pittsburgh Restaurant Week on a high note, hitting not one, but TWO restaurants for their special menus today.

First up was Verde for brunch. We didn’t have a reservation, but luckily we were able to get a seat at the bar. The service was… weird. Not necessarily bad, but just really really strange. We weren’t sure if our server/bartender was new, hung over, or just really out of it, but in the end, we got our food and drinks and that’s really what matters. We both chose the chilaquiles for our entrees and the bacon for our sides, complete with coffee for both and a bloody mary (just for me). The bloody mary was just WHOA. It was incredibly good – it’s obvious Verde makes their own mix; it was smoky and just a tad bit spicy. Towards the end of it, the back of my throat was just a wee bit warm, and I was left wanting more.

The chilaquiles were a first for us – they were tortilla chips covered in beans, chorizo, cheese, pico, and an egg. I made the BF eat my yolk, but other than that, I was very happy with my brunch. The tortilla chips got a bit soggy the more I dug through the plate, but that’s to be expected. And the bacon? Well, when have you ever had bad bacon? It’s not possible. Verde’s was just the slightest bit sweet, which kept things interesting. I really liked my brunch, and I will definitely be going back to get another bloody mary.

We left and ran some errands and did some stuff around the house, and then eventually my belly alarm started going off again. Around 6:30 or so, we headed out for our second PRW meal of the day, this time at Bocktown in Robinson. I’ve been to Bocktown several times before and loved it, but tonight was the BF’s first time there. We were seated right away and given time to peruse both the regular menu and the PRW menu. I chose the beer cheese soup with the arancini as my entrée, and the BF chose the soup with the Pittsburgh Poutine as his meal.

The beer cheese soup had a good flavor, and it had the teensiest bit of spice to it, but it was just way too salty for my liking. The first few bites were pretty good, but as the cup got emptier, the soup seemed to get saltier. The BF said the same thing, so I don’t think it was just me being sensitive to the sodium. When our meals came out, my arancini looked amazing. I was pretty psyched about it. I dug in and loved the first bite or two – hot sticky rice and tomato sauce, what’s not to love? But then I dug in a little further and noticed there was a gigantic chunk of mozzarella cheese inside the rice ball… which normally is a great thing to find, but it wasn’t melted and gooey; it was actually a little… cold. And then when I stuck my fork in further, I hit the Ricci’s sausage in the middle of the arancini and it was so cold it was almost frozen. I ate around the sausage and the cheese and eventually gave up; I was full enough. When our server came, I didn’t feel like making a big fuss, so I just asked for a box to take the rest home… at least there I can be sure the meat and cheese will be heated through. I want to say I loved the Bocktown meal, but the cold sausage and cheese in the middle of the arancini kind of really turned me off. That, and the fact that the soup was so salty. I had such high hopes for it, since historically I’ve loved Bocktown, but I left feeling rather disappointed.

Still, one disappointment in three PRW meals this season isn’t such a bad record. Maybe we’ll hit 100% satisfaction for the summer session, eh?

Make It A Double | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make It A Double

  1. Nicole says:

    I’m sad to hear of the Bocktown disappointment. Cold arancini center is not good at all. I’ve been a wee bit disappointed the last few times we went and It’s now been a year since we last went and we live really close.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      I’m still a little upset about it, because I used to love the place so much. I was hoping it was just an ‘off’ night, but now it sounds like it’s more of an ongoing problem. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

