Fig & Pig

Before the snow started really coming down tonight, we headed to Shadyside for dinner at Mercurio’s. We were both craving pizza, but Stone Pizzeria just seemed so far away Downtown, and Frankstown Wood Fired Pizza (amazing little gem, btw) doesn’t have anything else near it that we needed to hit up. Whole Foods is pretty close to Mercurio’s, so that won out.

We both debated between several options before making our final decisions. The one that finally put me over the edge, though, was the Fig & Prosciutto pizza, which is a seasonal option. Our server referred to it as “The Fig & Pig,” which I thought was pretty catchy.

If you’ve been following along since 2010, you may be thinking to yourself, “hmm, this pizza sounds very familiar.” Why yes, it does. Back in April 2010, my mom and I took a trip to Boston (no idea where the pictures went in that post) for my birthday and we visited a place called Figs, where I had my first fig & prosciutto pie. It was absolutely amazing, and I still think about it fairly regularly five years later.

So I had some lofty expectations… but if anyone could match that pizza in Boston, Mercurio’s would be it.

And match it, they did. The Fig & Pig was incredible – sweet, salty, chewy, a little crispy… it was awesome. I wish they’d put it on the menu full-time. (Mercurio’s, if you see this, please keep it!) Then again, if it were to appear on the menu year-round, I don’t know if I’d want to go anywhere else for dinner ever again. 😉

Luckily, the BF really liked his pizza as well, so I see repeat visits in our future!

Fig & Pig | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

