Tomato Tomahhhto

My taste buds must be going through some sort of growth spurt, cause lately I’m really digging some foods that historically have irked me. Case in point: tomatoes and smoked salmon. Two foods that I’ve shied away from in the past, but they’re the only things I want to eat now. Literally, every meal since yesterday morning has contained one or both of these ingredients, and I can’t get enough.

It doesn’t hurt that I’ve roasted the tomatoes, which makes them a little sweeter now that they’re out of season. Normally I cut them in half and toss them in olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and a boatload of garlic, but this time I left them whole and just tossed them in a light covering of oil and a pinch of sea salt. I didn’t think I’d like them without all the garlic, but they’re friggin delicious. Add some balsamic reduction and fresh mozzarella, and I’m a happy kid.

Now if I could just find some way to transport this to work tomorrow without it looking gross, I could have a bit of happiness for lunch…

Tomato Tomahhhto | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato Tomahhhto

  1. maryaquino says:

    Like wow….actually, as you age (sorry, we’re all doing it), your tastebuds must change a little cuz there are foods I wouldn’t eat when I was a kid (all beans except green), and I can’t live without now…well, that’s a vegetarian thing, I think. Roasted tomatoes rock. I want to get a chiminea or fire pit or something so I can fire roast some. Bet those would be outstanding. 🙂

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Oh man. Fire-roasted tomatoes would be ridiculous. I was thinking about grilling them last night, but since we have negative temperatures for our high temps these days, that’s probably not the most practical idea. 😉
      Once summer comes, game on, tomatoes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

