Sounds Gross, Tastes Delicious

There’s a chicken recipe I got off Pinterest a couple years ago, and I keep going back to it over and over again. I can’t remember what the pinner (or the original poster) called it, but in my mind, I remember it by “Yogurt Chicken.” Basically, it’s chicken breasts coated in a mixture of Greek yogurt, garlic, pepper, sea salt, and parmesan cheese. There’s a reason I keep going back to it – it’s amazing and it always tastes incredible.

I had a weird craving for it this evening, but I didn’t have any chicken to use. Really, I just wanted the yogurt mixture, which was great because I had about a cup of yogurt that was set to expire on 3/6. And so I set to work making chickenless Yogurt Chicken.

I combined about a cup of Greek yogurt, 1 tsp of minced garlic + another tsp of garlic powder, ~1/4 tsp sea salt & pepper, ~1/4 cup parmesan cheese, and a few tablespoons of nutritional yeast to make it extra-cheesy. I spread the mixture into a thin layer in a nonstick cake pan and let it bake for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees. It came out exactly like it would have had there been chicken involved, which was exactly what I wanted. It may sound like a disgusting combination, but my oh my, it was soooo good.

Next time maybe I’ll add some bacon to the mix and see how it turns out. 😉

Sounds Gross, Tastes Delicious | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sounds Gross, Tastes Delicious

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    That’s funny. When I first got online, I liked to troll sites because I was still in my 20s and, I guess, a jackass. Anyway, one day, I found this cooking site where people gathered to post various recipes. One time, I made up a recipe for something I called “Yogurt chicken.” The main ingredient was raspberry yogurt you used to coat the chicken before cooking. When I told my friends this, they said, “So, how do you know anyone actually tried this?” And when I told my mom, she said, “That sounds like an actual recipe and that it would be good. You’re ridiculous.”

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      You know, I can see how that might be not so bad. Maybe with some peaches and balsamic added in…

      Like

    • Nothing Personal says:

      Yeah, maybe I stumbled upon something that might actually work in an effort to play a practical joke. I should try making it during the last two days of my staycation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

