TGIF

Through most of the day today, I was glad it was Friday, but I was already dreading Monday and a certain meeting I have scheduled on Monday nights. But then, as I was waiting for the BF to get into town so we could meet up for dinner, I got some really REALLY good news. Suddenly, Monday doesn’t seem so scary, and hopefully I’ll only have another month or two of Monday nights to go before I’m done with them. This makes me so very happy. 🙂

When the BF made it into town, we headed to Proper Brick Oven Tap Room for dinner. The hostessing was a little weird, and there was next to nowhere to stand and wait for a table, but the service got much better once our server reached us. Because both of us are bacon aficionados, of course we started with the Bacon Candy for an app. For our entrees, the BF got the Carnivore pizza and I chose the Pesto one.

The Bacon Candy, as you might expect, was tasty, but it really didn’t seem like anything special. It was essentially thick-cut pieces of bacon, candied. Obviously, it was delicious… but for some reason I just expected something more.

As for the pizzas, the Pesto pizza was good, but the BF’s Carnivore pizza was even better. My Pesto had caramelized onions, pesto, roasted tomatoes, bacon, and cheese. Maybe I was jaded by the Bacon Candy, but I really didn’t notice much bacon on my pizza. I will say this, though – the crust was fantastic. I’m more of a sauce girl than a crust girl, but Proper’s crust was great – it was buttery, a wee bit salty, and just a tad sweet. And soft. So so soft. My only complaint was that the middle of the pizza seemed to sag a bit under the weight of the toppings; it could have been just a bit more well-done. But flavor-wise, the crust was a winner.

Apparently Proper cures their own meats, which is probably why I loved the BF’s pizza so much. The meats were perfect, and I was a little jealous of the sauce on his pizza. The Pesto didn’t have regular tomato sauce (which is to be expected), but I love red sauce and I found it hard to concentrate on my pizza while his was still around.

All in all, Proper was a nice cozy place for a date night, but it didn’t seem as magical as the online reviews made it seem. I wouldn’t mind going back, but next time I’ll probably get my own Carnivore pizza instead of coveting the BF’s.

TGIF | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

