Save It For A Rainy Day

Back in the end of November, I was equal parts bummed and excited that Thanksgiving was over. Bummed because I wouldn’t get a chance to eat my turkey leftovers due to a business trip. Psyched to head out on what would become the best business trip ever. I was a hot mess of emotions. Turkey does that to me.

Luckily, I had enough wits about me between the holiday and packing that I managed to remember to freeze my turkey leftovers before driving to the airport. I figured I’d defrost them in the spring, on a rainy day.

Well here we are – it’s a rainy day and while it’s not officially spring, the above 40 temps are fooling me into thinking the worst is over for another year. To celebrate, I took my turkey bag out of the freezer and thawed that bird out. I even did it up right with some mashed potatoes… though to be honest, mashed potatoes aren’t my strong suit. I love them, but I’m not so great at making them. I always try to healthify them by making them with mostly water and just a little bit of milk and butter, when I should really just let them be comforting bad-for-you goodness. Today’s spuds didn’t turn out too bad, but I’ve probably just been deceived by the turkey gravy making them better.

So tonight I learned that turkey freezes and defrosts just fine – perfectly, actually – and that mashed potatoes probably should not be made with water. #themoreyouknow

Save It For A Rainy Day | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Save It For A Rainy Day

  1. Sam says:

    Mashed potatoes…my weakness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

