Unforgettable

Have you ever had the kind of breakfast where your brain just melts and turns to mush while eating? I had that experience today, and I still haven’t recovered – nearly 12 hours later.

We’d originally intended to go to Second Breakfast in the Pittsburgh Public Market, but they weren’t serving due to a private event… so we walked up and down the Strip until it turned 11 o’clock, at which point I got super-excited and exclaimed, “Let’s go to Kaya!”

I’d been to Kaya once before, for a birthday dinner, and I left feeling really underwhelmed. But then I started looking at more and more brunch places online and I kept seeing Kaya mentioned alongside their fried chicken and waffles. Count. Me. In.

Even though we got there at like 11:03, there were a lot of tables taken. We didn’t need a reservation at that time, but if we’d come a half hour later, I bet we would have. We both got the same thing – coffee with chicken and waffles. I also got a bloody mary with cilantro vodka, because duh, cilantro vodka.

The chicken and waffles… man. It was love at first sight. Take one crispy Belgian waffle, top it with perfectly seasoned fried chicken tenders, and place a dollop of tabasco butter on top, with maple syrup on the side. It’s friggin Heaven on earth. I loved it so much that I kept saying afterwards, “Man, that chicken and waffles was soooooo good!” I’m sure the BF loved listening to that all day. 🙂

So yeah, it’s safe to say I will definitely be back for more chicken and waffles. I want more right now. I don’t care that I’m not hungry, I just want them! And Kaya’s fried chicken nights on Thursdays? I’m sure I’ll be “willing” to check one of those out sometime soon as well.

Unforgettable | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

