Overdue

Today was the absolute perfect example of why I generally dislike taking more than one day off at a time – almost everything that could go wrong, did… and then things that I never would have thought would go wrong went wrong too.

It started off with me driving to the park & ride early, getting a good spot, walking to the bus stop, and realizing I forgot my wallet (with bus pass and work ID) in my gym bag at home. So I had to drive all the way back home, grab it, and then drive all the way back to the park & ride and get a crappy spot and was almost late for my 9am call. Luckily, the person running the call was late… but on the ride into town, I received about 20 panicked emails about an account that basically started a metaphorical fire. Most excellent start to the day.

Due to the aforementioned “fire,” everything was thrown off. I have no idea what happened between 9:00 and 7:15; all I know is that I ran meetings, spoke with HR several times, played firefighter (the same account started 4 more forest-sized fires before I was even able to get through the first one), had to enlist not 1 or 2 but THREE separate people to help me (plus two of our three managers and some top-level people), and somehow managed to do all of the administrative things I needed to do before leaving. It’s like I did all this stuff, but I blacked out and don’t remember any of it. Apparently the day is almost over at this point? I have no idea; I’m still stuck back at 10 am in my head.

Once I finally managed to escape, I still had to log in at home to finish calming everyone down.

I won’t say I needed a drink when I got home, but something needed to calm me down. If ever there was a day to require a drink, it would have been today. So a gin & tonic it was, sipped while looking up some info on a little vacation I’m taking.

So while I’m excited to have a full (long) weekend off from both jobs, I’m not so excited about the mess I’m going to walk into when I get back on Tuesday. It’s almost not worth taking the time off work. But on the plus side, I’m super-excited about what I have planned for this weekend, AND there’s a light at the end of the work-tunnel (more to come on that at a later date).

Bon voyage to me; see you all on the other side (literally…).

Overdue | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

