Hangin’ Tough

Before tonight’s volleyball game, a few teammates and I decided to meet up beforehand to grab a drink and to just hang out. The conversation turned to something I’ve been thinking a lot about recently, and it seems they have too – volleyball just hasn’t been all that fun lately. It used to be, I’d look forward to playing every night of the week, even if I had 4 days until my next match. It used to be the highlight of my week. But lately… it just hasn’t. Turns out I’m not alone in this, because my teammates feel exactly the same way. To make matters worse, we only had four players show up tonight, so we didn’t have great expectations for this game.

Sometimes having no (or very low) expectations is the way to go.

While we were stuck playing 4 v. 6, we had a pretty incredible night. All four of us played really well, and we were all over the court. We were laughing. We were sweating. And we were having fun again. It was just like old times, but with less people.

In the end, I, personally, got destroyed. My left knee is all sorts of jacked up – since I was all over the floor, my skin was all over the floor. Ever get a “rug burn” on a hardwood floor? Not fun. And apparently my knee pads are useless, because my knee is (was, at this point) bleeding. And then my wrist… well, I was due for a blood vessel to break, and within the first five minutes of playing, I dove for a ball and immediately knew that the vessel had burst. Injuries not pictured include a swollen thumb that got bent backwards (it’ll be fine, it’s just stoved) and a re-aggravated shoulder injury. The shoulder injury meant no more overhand serves in our third game, and right now it means I can’t lift my arm over my head. No biggie.

Despite the destruction, it was such an incredibly fun night. If all our games could be like that, I’d be happy. Skin will scab over, blood vessels will heal, and my shoulder will eventually feel better (hopefully), but as I’ve learned over the past few months, good games like tonight’s are no longer a given, so it’s best to enjoy them as they come.

Games like tonight’s? Totally worth it. 🙂

Hangin’ Tough | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

