Surf & Turf

Surf & Turf

It was sprinkling the entire time I was on the bus, but as soon as the doors opened at Smithfield St, the skies unleashed their fury. Although I sprinted the entire way to work from the bus, my jeans, feet, and backpack were completely soaked when I got inside. Lucky for me, I keep a spare pair of shoes at my desk, so at least my feet didn’t get pruny… my jeans didn’t dry until around lunch, though.

Other than the extra bath, I felt like I’d won some sort of jackpot or something today. I had to be at work early for a coffee “date” with one of the managers on my new team and a new coworker. We met at Starbucks, and to my delight, the manager paid. I tried a tall S’mores frappuccino, and I’m afraid they’re going to be dangerous for me – it was good. Really, really good. I try to shy away from that much sugar all at once, but whoa. I wished I’d gotten a bigger size, but it’s probably a good thing I didn’t (I wouldn’t sleep tonight if I had).

So the Starbucks started the morning off right, but the best part was going out to lunch with one of my (now former) coworkers. We’d set up our lunch date and moved it a few times, but the stars finally aligned today. She asked where I wanted to go, and I told her I was game for anything; I’m an equal-opportunity lunch-lover. She was glad, because she had a place in mind, but she wouldn’t tell me where we were going until we were on our way. As we walked through Market Square, I was thinking DiBella’s… then Moe’s… then Primanti Bros… but she kept walking. Then she told me she wanted to go to Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse. I can’t remember if I stopped walking, or if I was just rendered speechless, but I was kind of stunned. In my mind, Ruth’s Chris is super-expensive and super-fancy. But she insisted… so off we went.

We got onion rings to start (she’s been there many times and said we had to get them. I’m on-board with o-rings, so I was happy), and then she ordered the petite filet and I ordered the grilled shrimp lunch special. First, the onion rings. They were really thick, and they had a light tempura batter on them. We got remoulade on the side, and it was pretty awesome.

Both of our meals came with the garlic mashed potatoes and the vegetable of the day (a broccoli medley). My shrimp was really good, but when my coworker tossed a piece of steak onto my plate, I forgot all about the ‘surf’ part of our surf & turf lunch. That steak… wow. I like steak just fine, but it’s not usually my go-to meal. This steak, though… it made me forget about all other steaks. Heck, it made me forget about all the other things on our plates. I’m a sauce addict, and I normally douse steak in A-1 (go on, send me hate mail), but this steak didn’t even need it. For the first time in my life, I can admit that A-1 would have ruined this steak. It was so soft and buttery, but full of flavor. My mouth is watering as I type this. Have mercy.

The lunch portions were just the right size, too – we didn’t have room for dessert and we were full, but not stuffed. Plus, I can’t even tell you the last time I ate lunch in a restaurant during a workday. It was nice.

For a Tuesday, today was a pretty great day. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

