Constantinople

Constantinople

Five days.

I was in the office all five days this week. This shouldn’t be a big feat, but by Wednesday evening I was just so darn tired of the hour commute in and the hour commute out – two hours each day, wasted on driving and riding. Ten hours a week. I know, I’ve been spoiled (and I still am), but I forgot how much it sucks. Being there doesn’t suck… it’s really just the commute that kills me.

So to reward myself a little today, I took myself out to lunch. Actually, that’s kind of a lie. I only went out for lunch because I forgot my packed lunch at home. 😦 But it all worked out, because I went somewhere I haven’t been in over a year and a half – Istanbul Grill (or Constantinople Grill, as we call it). I used to LOVE the place when they were right across the street from my building, but then 7-Eleven forced them out and they moved to the Steel Tower. I haven’t been back since, partly because I just don’t have time to galavant around Downtown during the day (they’re not open for dinner), and partly because I tend to get lost everywhere in the Steel Tower. But since all I’m really doing right now is reading documentation and watching/listening to recorded demos, I figured this was a good time to check it out.

I was glad to see they finally posted prices – they never posted them in their old location. I got the cold plate, which consists of a salad and three cold sides. I chose hummus, grape leaves, and a black-eyed pea salad for my sides… but then the nice man behind the counter gave me some garlicky roasted peppers, carrot salad, yogurt sauce, hot sauce, and pita on top of it all – no extra charge. I love them so much.

I could hardly wait to get back to my desk so I could eat it… and when I did, my eyes rolled into the back of my head and it was just like they’d never left me. It was so so so good. Annoyingly so, because now that I’ve refreshed my turkish memories, I’m sure I’ll be heading back there more often.

Guess that’ll give me something to look forward to if I’m going to be in the office more. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

