Home Sweet Sand

Home Sweet Sand

For a little while, I was thinking I might only play sand volleyball on Thursdays this summer… but then I got a random text from an unknown number today telling me to show up at the courts, ready to play. I still don’t know who the text was from (a few people looked familiar, but I didn’t actually know anyone there). Most people probably wouldn’t show up to a place that an unknown person tells them to be, but I think I’d put up a good fight if someone tried to take me. That said, I was all in.

Turns out there were people there who needed another player for a Wednesday night league, so I played with them all night and they asked me to be on their team permanently. So now I’m up to pick-up vb on Tuesday, teams on Wednesday and Thursday (if I actually agree to play with these people), and pick-up on Saturday afternoons before work (sometimes). I literally went from one day to four days of play within two hours.

As for tonight, it was an interesting situation. As soon as they met me, they got funny looks on their faces and said, “You actually know how to play, don’t you?” They apparently did not, aside from gym classes. I think this was the first time my 5′ 2.5″ frame was assumed to be a volleyball player, so that was cool. They were really nice people, but kind of lacking in basic skills. Really lacking, actually. So we played a couple games of 2’s and then I basically took over as a coach for them. I dusted off the wayback machine and took them through some drills from high school. At the end of the night, they were calling me “Coach,” and oddly enough, it actually felt really good. Like, I might actually be a decent coach if I had the chance. There was even some improvement in their skills by the time we were done. 🙂

I think I’ll head back again next week, even if it’s just to mess around a little and maybe walk them through some more drills. If nothing else, running around in the sand is a good workout. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

