Slugger

Slugger

As part of date night tonight, I specifically requested that we go to the driving range, but not our usual place. Instead, I wanted us to go to a place in Plum that I’d heard has batting cages. I’ve felt a weird urge lately to hit some balls, so I even made sure to bring my trusty aluminum bat that I keep beside my bed (true story).

Personally, I liked this place better than our usual driving range because the range was on a downward slope – this made it feel like I was hitting the ball further than I really was (or, who knows, maybe I really was hitting the ball far). I had a few really good (for me) shots and we had fun.

Then we headed over to the batting cages. I haven’t hit a softball in 17 years (!!), so I was a little apprehensive. I wanted to give it a shot, but I didn’t want to look like a total moron and miss every ball. I stepped into the slow-pitch cage and was pleasantly surprised – the balls felt like they were coming reaaaalllly slow and I was able to hit them. Thing is, they were way slower than I’d remembered, so I moved over to the faster cage. Still, they seemed slow, but the only other options were baseballs, so I dealt with the slowness. It was so friggin’ great, though! It felt so amazing to swing a bat again! I only had two misses (out of 32 balls… I think) – not bad for my first time in 17 years. I can definitely see the batting cages becoming a new obsession for me – and truth be told, I should probably use my bat on occasion to keep it (and my arms) fresh.

Next thing you know, I’ll join one of the PSL softball teams (don’t think it hasn’t crossed my mind). 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

