Worth Waking Up For

Worth Waking Up For

I had a looooooong (but thankfully good) night last night and I didn’t get to bed until around 2:30 or 3… but that didn’t stop me from waking up at around 8:30. I’m trying to get on a somewhat normal wake-schedule now that I’m going into the office more. I’ve realized it’s tougher to sleep as long as I want on the weekends and then force myself to get up at 7 each weekday than it is to try to pseudo-maintain an earlier wake-up schedule on the weekends. If I don’t sleep as long as I want, then Monday morning is a little less awful. Sunday mornings are usually a trip to get through, especially after a late night (especially those crazy busy nights where I get an 8-hour workout), but it’s still worth it to not have Monday be terrible.

Plus, there’s usually lots of coffee on Sunday morning. And sometimes there’s even Tartine, which is where we went for an early brunch today.

Tartine is one of my favorite places in Pittsburgh – I love the atmosphere, the service, and most especially, the food. Most of the time, I get the tartine au saumon, which is a slice of bread with cream cheese, lots of fresh smoked salmon, balsamic marinated tomatoes, crème fraîche, and capers. Served with a side of lyonnaise potatoes and a whole lotta coffee, and there it is: a great reason to wake up at a reasonable hour on a Sunday.

If only I could have Tartine every day (and if only they’d relocate to the East End)… mornings wouldn’t be nearly so rough. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

