Monday Funday!

Monday Funday

When I went to bed last night after the craziness of work, I was expecting to have a chill day at home today – my plans were to sleep in, do some laundry, go to the gym, and maybe treat myself to lunch somewhere. But then I woke up this morning and I thought, why waste such a gorgeous day piddling around at home when there’s a large chunk of my 15 in ’15 list left to tackle? And what better day to tackle it than on a bright sunny day – perfect driving weather!

So after about 5 minutes of research, I decided to do one of the tasks that I didn’t think the BF would care if he missed out on – travel to State College and get ice cream at Penn State’s Berkey Creamery. The BF has been there before and he didn’t seem too excited about going back, so I figured today was a good opportunity to go for it solo.

After about 2 hours driving, I spent nearly 20 minutes driving around the Penn State campus trying to find parking, not realizing the parking lot a block away from the creamery offered 30 minutes free. D’oh! It worked out, though, because I got to wander around the campus both in the car and on foot since I ended up parking nearly a half hour’s walk away from the ice cream. Having never been to PSU before, I didn’t know what to expect. It was a lot more rural than I’d imagined, and it made me really happy that I went to Pitt instead – I much prefer city living to rural. (Insert obligatory P-E-N-N-S-T SUCKS! chant here.)

When I eventually found the creamery, I decided to just make ice cream my lunch. I went with the WPSU Coffee Break in a cone – coffee ice cream with chocolate chips. Not a bad decision, and I was glad I was there early enough in the day that the caffeine didn’t affect me. While the ice cream was good, I don’t know if I’d necessarily see the need to travel 2 hours for it again… or to step foot on the PSU campus again. But I’m glad I went and tried it. Next time I have a hankering for it, I’ll just head to Klavon’s in the Strip – they serve the creamery’s ice cream and it’s much closer. 🙂

Back in March when I went to Philly, I fell in love with a little place called Wegmans. Some people geek out over the Giant Eagle Market District grocery stores; I geek out over Wegmans. When I visited my first one in Philly, I found Polar seltzer water and bought a couple bottles to bring back. Confession: I’m a seltzer addict. Love the stuff. Love it more than any other beverage, ever. Even more than coffee. When I got them home and opened up the bottles, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked their flavors. I think I got the Cranberry Lime, Lime, and Vanilla ones on that trip. The vanilla surprised me the most – it tasted like unsweetened cream soda and it was DELICIOUS. Well, I found a Wegmans in State College, so I loaded up the cart… and I mean LOADED. I got every single flavor of Polar seltzer that Wegmans stocks, and even got multiples of some. All told, I think I ended up with 21 bottles. Hot diggity, I’m excited.

And then, because the day wasn’t exciting enough, I stopped by Altoona since it was on the way home. I’ve never been to an Altoona Curve game, and as luck would have it, they were playing a double-header within a half hour of my arrival. When I went up to the ticket window to buy a grandstand seat, I got another surprise – my ticket was only $1! For a double-header! For those of you who aren’t so great at math, that’s 50 cents a game, for a pretty decent AA baseball team. Sold!

When I found my seat, I learned that I was in the homerun zone (though there were no homers while I was there), and I had my entire section to myself. It was great, I camped out and got a little suntan during the games. Admittedly, I left shortly after the second game started because I wanted to have daylight to drive home in, but it was still a fun time even though the Curve lost the first game to Harrsiburg (but they ended up winning the second game, after I left).

There’s something to be said about a spontaneous road trip, eating ice cream for lunch, and then hitting up a baseball double-header in the cheap seats. It was a super fun day, and I’m so glad I did something “exciting” instead of just staying at home on my day off. I’m not sure I’ll be thinking that tomorrow as I’m wincing in pain from my suntan sunburn, but still, it was a great day. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

