Vindication

Vindication

I’m supposed to be in Baltimore right now, eating dinner at a place called Chaps Pit Beef and then rolling over to Dangerously Delicious Pies for dessert. Yet, here I am, in Pittsburgh, on my couch.

My business trip that I was supposed to leave for at around 2pm was canceled at around 1:10 – talk about last minute. The cancellation had nothing to do with me, but it did mean that I had to cancel my hotel reservation and my dreams of beefy sandwiches for dinner. I was actually pretty disappointed – I’ve only been to the airport in Baltimore; never in the city itself. Also, all the food that I researched looked mighty fine. I had some dinner envy tonight.

But while I was working on cancelling my room for the night, my mom was emailing me, yelling at me to go to the doctor again for my eye. Yes, the same eye that has been in pain for the last two weeks. I got tired of whining about it, but it’s still painful, and as you can see, it’s still a hot mess. 😉 So I tried some new search terms and did a little Dr Google diagnosing, and then called my regular eye doctor to see if my issue is even something they normally handle. They were able to fit me in at 4:45 this afternoon, and wouldn’t you know, what I thought was wrong is what’s actually wrong – dacryocystitis. When I told the doctor I’ve been dealing with this for two weeks, she visibly shuddered. I think it’s because my eye is so darn sexy right now. 😉

This means that MedExpress is useless (which I kind of knew already), but to be honest, the first step would have been the same anyway – antibiotics. The antibiotics obviously have not done their job, so the next step is to go see an oculoplastics surgeon. She told me that there’s a decent possibility that, given the fact the antibiotics didn’t work, I might have to have surgery. Luckily, I’m a pro at surgery, so that’s no big thing. Hey, medically-necessary nose job, what’s to hate? (The issue is inflammation of the lacrimal sac, which is between the eyeball and the nose, which could be caused by growth in my nose bone. This means that my lacrimal sac is not draining as it should. Treatment could mean shaving part of the bone on my nose.)

So while I’m bummed that I’m not eating awesome food in Baltimore, and that I might need to have surgery (at the very least, this means more doctors, which, YUCK), I do feel a little self-righteous knowing that I was right about my eye. I’m practically a doctor, you guys. All I need is one of those little prescription pads… 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

