Thank You Note

  
I unexpectedly had the entire day to myself today, but that seemed to work out well because I had a lot of things to check off of my to-do list. My aunt was kind enough to request Wednesday off in order to drive down from Butler to take me home from surgery, and she’s made it clear that she’ll be coming inside my house to make sure I have everything I need before she heads back home. It’s part off a running joke that she said it – she and my uncle were in town to go to a race with me once and my house was a disaster (like usual), so I made them just drop me off when we got back to my place. That’s why she’s made such a big deal about coming inside and not just dropping me off this time. 😉

Anyway, since it’s become clear that she IS going to be entering the house, and I have a bad reputation as the messy packrat of the family, I spent my entire day cleaning. I didn’t manage to get through every room just yet, but I got through the living room and dining room, the hammock room/office, the hallway, and most of the kitchen. Tomorrow night and Tuesday night are reserved for cleaning my bedroom and a quick swipe through the bathroom. Depending on what time surgery is on Wednesday, I might have time to give the kitchen a quick wipe down before leaving; if not, then Tuesday night will be a busy night. I’m trying to have everything clean, organized, and easily accessible – not just so my aunt can report back that my house doesn’t look like a tornado just ran through it, but also because I’m not quite sure the condition I’ll be in when I get back home post-surgery. From what the internet has told me, I’ll be dressed as a pirate in an eye patch for 24 hours, but who knows. I know for sure that I can’t drive for at least 24 hours, and I’m supposed to be off work through the rest of the week and the weekend. In any case, I won’t be in any condition to be traipsing around town getting milk or food, or weed whacking, or whatever else I should be doing on a day off, so I’m trying to get it all done now. At least I managed to cut my grass in between cleaning rooms today… but weed-whacking, not so much.

So, as mentioned above, I’m super-grateful to my aunt for taking the day off of work to haul my anesthesized butt home safely, so I decided to bake her a cake tonight. Well, it’s for her, but I’m also going to slice into it in a few minutes. It’s a flourless almond ricotta lemon cake, and it smells AMAZING. The reviews from people who’ve made it are pretty spectacular as well. I’m pretty jazzed. It’s also one of the prettiest cakes I’ve ever made, so that makes it extra-exciting.  Almost makes me think I should save this one for myself and just make her another one on Tuesday night… hmmm… 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

