Fish & [Chocolate] Chips

Fish & {Chocolate} Chips

On my last day of full-time-job sick leave, I finally ventured out in public. I’d gotten a little antsy from staying indoors the past two days, so once I was cleared to drive again (albeit without my trusty shades – it’s four eyes for me for the next week), I was gone.

My first stop was to Walmart to pick up some necessities, but after that I had a little fun. For starters, I treated myself to lunch at a place I’ve had my eye on for quite some time – Emil’s. Emil’s is in Rankin, which is near Braddock and thus is very close to my house, but they have really strange hours – like, they close at 7pm most days and even 4pm some other days. For a bar, I think that’s strange… but Emil’s has been around for a long time, so they must be doing something right. And that something is most definitely their fish sandwich. I have to be in a “mood” to have a fish sandwich, and even then, I’m usually disappointed and I hardly ever actually like them. But based on all the people ordering the fish, I decided to just go for it. It came à la carte at $8.99, with a small order of fries weighing in at another $2, but for maybe the first time in my life, I can say that this fish sandwich was worth it. It’s a full pound of fish, lightly breaded and fried and served with both cocktail and tartar on the side. Beyond that, it was love at first bite. I usually think of fried fish as something heavy, but this fish was light and flaky. Honestly, despite barely eating this entire week (thanks, drugs), I probably could have eaten the entire thing and the fries with no problem. Since I haven’t really been myself lately, though, I decided to take it easy and settled for taking half home with me. I’d say that maybe I just finally got my appetite back, but considering I’ve had no appetite for anything else the rest of the day, I think it’s safe to say that this fish sandwich is a miracle worker.

Since I had nothing else to do, and since I’m almost never in the area before they close, I decided to head over to Nancy B’s in Homestead for some cookies after my satisfying lunch. I ended up getting some of their chocolate chip cookies straight out of the oven, along with a couple of their oatmeal raisin cookies. Chocolate chip seems to be the cult favorite when it comes to Nancy B’s, but if I’m being totally honest, I prefer their oatmeal raisin. There’s just something about it – it’s not too sweet, not too cinnamony, and doesn’t seem too heavy… and yet, I can eat only a quarter of one before I’m full.

After all the eating, I decided to test my luck at the gym. I’m not allowed to do strenuous activity for a few more days, including running and lifting weights, but no one said anything about walking. So I cranked the treadmill up to the highest incline and walked for an hour while finishing up an episode of Sherlock on Netflix… the hour was over before I knew it. And then I went home and walked for another hour, because I really, truly had absolutely nothing else to do. I have a feeling I’m going to regret that second hour, though, as I was already sore from the surgery, and now I’m feeling more like I did the first night out of the hospital. Ah well, I guess that’s why they gave me all those pain pills, no?

Anyway, aside from the achiness, my eye and the stitches feel even better today than they did yesterday. And bonus, I was able to let the water fall directly on my face tonight in the shower without screaming, which is a HUGE improvement over the past… month? Yeah. Once I get the tube in my eye/nose area removed next week (the worst part of this whole ordeal – I constantly feel it), and then get the stitches out, I’m anticipating feeling just like new.

And if I don’t? I’ll have leftover Nancy B’s cookies to help me through it all.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fish & [Chocolate] Chips

  1. maryaquino says:

    Wow! What a day for you. 🙂 Glad you got out and about. Sounds like you’re doing better……

    Like

Leave a Reply

