Oldies But Goodies

Oldies But Goodies

I’m going through a wicked bout of nostalgia today. It started very early this morning, when I suddenly got the most amazing idea in my head to go play racquetball. At 3:30. In the morning. The idea was so thrilling that I couldn’t sleep. Like, at all. The thought of playing racquetball literally kept me up all night long.

So when it was an acceptable hour to give up on the idea of sleep and get out of bed, I headed to my computer to see where I could go play racquetball. Of the different gyms I belong to (I’m part of the Healthways plan where I can go to a bunch of different places), only one of them has a racquetball court, and there’s only one and it’s constantly booked. I knew LA Fitness has plenty of courts, but to my knowledge they were outside of the Healthways network. Thinking along those lines, I decided to see if there were any other Healthways gyms that I could go to… and I got the best surprise of the week. Turns out LA Fitness is now part of the network, which means I can go back to my old preferred gym!

For most people, going back to their old gym wouldn’t be the greatest thing to happen to them in a while, but consider that I’ve always considered LA Fitness to be like a second home, and every time I pass it, I feel a gravitational pull to reinstate my old membership. A lot of good times happened in that gym – I met 2 of my last 3 ex-boyfriends there, I trained for my first and second half marathons there, and I found my love for yoga, spin class, and (of course) racquetball there. Plus, I know several people from work who go to my LA Fitness, so if I wanted to, I could have workout buddies. So yeah, I’m pretty pumped about this.

So I headed to Monroeville, got my membership reinstated thanks to Healthways, and played racquetball by myself for about 2 hours. It was glorious. I am so incredibly bad at this game, but it’s so much fun to run around balls to the wall (get it?), and to hit things. It’s like the best of tennis and volleyball, without having to shag balls. I can hit balls against a wall for hours on end without getting bored, as evidenced by my total-body soreness right now. Perhaps I should have eased back into it?

Anyway, between LA Fitness and racquetball, my day was already pretty solid, but then I came home and turned on Spotify so that I could make dinner and clean up and a throwback playlist was on. Junior Senior was one of the first bands to come on, and suddenly I was flooded with nostalgia and happy memories. A friend and I went to see them at Laga (whoa) when we were in college, and Junior Senior never fails to pump me up and get me psyched. Plus, after that, the playlist was filled with all the songs of my youth. I took quite a trip to Memory Lane, and had a blast.

I’m hoping all this good stuff keeps going, at least for a little while longer. If not, at least I can always go hit balls against a wall to get my frustration out. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

