Homecoming

Homecoming

Someday soon, my gushing about the gym will be over and I’ll be back to normal levels of excitement, but today is not that day.

Wanting to hit some balls and get some stress out, I headed to LA Fitness again today. The courts were all booked when I got there, so I hopped on the treadmill to wait my turn. About 25 minutes in, I noticed a guy talking to someone and he looked really familiar… but as I looked closer, I realized it was one of my friends from my old job! He’d lost about 60 pounds, and though he’s still solid (he’s a former college linebacker), he looked a lot different. Also, I haven’t seen him in close to five years… the last time we worked together, he taught me how to do clapping pushups at work. 🙂 He came over and talked to me for quite a while, and eventually a court opened up and I left him to go play. But then, after about 20 minutes of playing by myself, he came over with his racquet and he challenged me to a game of one-on-one. It wasn’t much of a challenge for him – when I say I’m horrible at racquetball, I’m totally serious – but we both had fun.

PLUS, I’ve talked him into applying at my company… so if he gets hired, I get a hefty bonus. Schwing!

Even without talking to him, I recognized a lot of friendly faces at the gym tonight, and several people struck up conversations with me. What a change from my regular gym where I go in, do my thing, and then leave without anyone saying a word to me. It felt like a real homecoming tonight, and I’m pretty pumped about it.

Oh, and as I was gathering my stuff from my locker on the way out, I noticed this sign hanging in the locker room. Back in the day I used to play volleyball at LAF, but then I stopped going to the Monroeville branch. Looks like now I have something fun to do on Wednesdays if treadmills and racquets get boring. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

