The Struggle Is Real

The Struggle Is Real

What. A. Day.

It started off early (for me) – I left the house around 7:30 – and is ending late, but it was really a pretty awesome day.

I got such an early start because I had a post-op appointment today in Oakland. I’d been afraid that they were only going to take my stitches out and leave the tube in my nose, but the exact opposite happened – they took the tube out (THANK GOODNESS) and kept the stitches in. I think the stitches might be those fancy dissolvable ones, though, so they might just disappear after awhile. Granted, I sat in an exam room by myself for nearly an hour and had to stare at pictures of bisected lacrimal sacs (gross), so I had to fight the urge to flee. I’m glad I stayed, though, because the only thing about the surgery that bothered me was that darn tube. I think there’s still something else in there since I can still see the loop of string in my eye, I need another follow-up, and I still need to take about 4 different antibiotics, but if something is there, I can’t feel it.

After the appointment, I was torn between heading back home, walking around Oakland, and taking a bus safari somewhere for lunch. In the end, I decided on a short bus safari to the South Side. I’d planned on eating lunch at The Zenith, but it was apparently closed (it was nearly noon at this point). Stumped, and disappointed, I wandered lost around the South Side. Eventually, I made my way down Carson St and made the spontaneous decision to go to Fat Head’s for lunch. BIG difference between The Zenith (vegan, healthy) and Fat Head’s (meaty, sandwiches as big as your head), but it turned out to be a good decision. While I was there, I decided to celebrate the tube removal with a sour beer… and then realized that I’m still on antibiotics. Oh well, I was taking the bus, so it wouldn’t matter. I got my standard headwich (the PCI/Pretty Cool Italian, which they’ve apparently renamed) and very much enjoyed both the sandwich and the beer. And while I was there, I ran into a fellow volleyball player, so I even had someone to talk to for a bit. It was a nice little lunch… followed by a very tipsy bus ride. I very much underestimated the impact one 12-oz beer would have on me when I haven’t had a drink in over a month and I’ve been on a steady stream of antibiotics since mid-June – whooboy! One beer felt like four or five. It was kind of awesome. Thank goodness for buses.

Once I made it back home and sobered up, I decided to treat myself to a haircut since it’s been nearly a year since my last one, and then I made the spontaneous decision to head to Butler to visit my fur brothers. We got to hang out together for about an hour before my mom came home from work, and then my mom and I went for a pretty fantastic dinner. I spent the remainder of the evening watching Tank and Taco struggling to play tug-of-war with Taco’s rope lead, and then watching the two of them fight. And the entire time, I was on the receiving end of an obscene amount of kisses. Taco couldn’t get enough of my legs – I don’t know if Oakland and the South Side have a particular perfume to them (ew), but he loved it; he wouldn’t stop licking my legs. It was cute at first, and then weird and a little gross. But he’s still cute. And Tank… well, he’s still a little bruiser (in every way imaginable). It was nice to hang out with everyone tonight. 🙂

Tomorrow I head back to bartending, so I figured I needed to live it up for my last weekend night of “freedom.” Despite the exhaustion I feel, and how tired my eye(s) are right now, it was totally worth it to have such a fun day off. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

