Cold Cheese Pizza

Cold Cheese Pizza

We didn’t have anything exciting for dinner at work tonight, so I decided to wait to eat dinner after work. Unfortunately, I wasn’t thinking about the after party we had to set up, or the cleanup I’d have to do… so it ended up being a very late dinner. Like, it’s 1 am and I’m still working on eating it.

BUT, it was worth the wait. Thanks to their late hours and zero traffic after midnight, I decided to give Beto’s a try. I’ve read about Beto’s many times, on blogs, Yelp, and Urbanspoon, and I’ve heard firsthand testimonials, so I was prepared for the cold cheese on the pizza. What I wasn’t prepared for was HOW MUCH cheese. My gosh, between the six slices I got (leftovers!), there must be an entire pound of cheese… at least!

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about uncooked pepperoni, so I only got one slice with pepp and the others just cheese. Also, I waited until I got home to dig in, and since I live about 19 minutes away from Beto’s without traffic (… or, about 13 minutes… ahem), the cheese had started to melt from being covered by the box by the time I got to try it. Still, the cheese was cold-ish, and a bunch of it still looked like the picture above.

I tried the pepperoni piece first, and I was really surprised at how much I liked it. The uncooked pepperoni was a little weird at first, and I ended up just eating it separately. Still, it was good. I liked my cheese slice just as much as the pepperoni.

I think my favorite part of the Beto’s slices was the chunks of tomatoes they use in their sauce – every bite had some tomato and some bites had rather large chunks. My dad would hate this pizza, because he’s a vegetable-hater; he’d bite into a chunk of tomato and spit it out. But me, I liked it.

Someone once tried to convince me that Beto’s pizza is basically the same as Police Station Pizza’s pizza (so redundant!), but I have to vehemently disagree. While I liked Police Station Pizza’s slices, I think Beto’s had more flavor. The crust was good (though it didn’t seem all that special), the sauce was good, and it tasted like Beto’s uses a very distinct blend of cheeses – the flavor was pretty incredible.

Considering how late they’re open for carryout, how late I leave work on the weekends, and the lack of traffic after midnight, Beto’s might become a bit of an after-work habit. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

