TBT: Flat Tire Edition

TBT: Flat Tire Edition

At this point in time, I’m beginning to think I’m cursed when it comes to cars. Namely, car tires. To be even more specific, passenger side front tires.

Remember back in January when I returned to my car in the park & ride and found a flat front tire? Yeah, that was a fun time. NOT. I just remember panicking, for about a billion reasons, not least of all because it was at night (when I first found it) and I had just been dropped off and I was all alone in the cold and the snow and the neighborhood really wasn’t the greatest.

Fast-forward to present day, and it’s a different car, but the same tire. I had to run to get gas after work, and halfway home, my flat tire indicators started flashing like crazy and my car basically told me to stop driving. I made it home, got out of the car, and realized I could actually hear air whooshing out of my tire. I was much calmer this time around – I was home safe, it was daylight, and it was warm outside. There was no real panicking, but I did run around like a crazy person, trying to figure out what to do. Lacking any reasoning skills whatsoever, I grabbed duct tape and “patched” the hole in the tire. Yes, I could actually see where the tire had been torn apart. Ugh. (For the record, the duct tape did slow the leak.)

I called Mini and they assured me that since I have run-flats, I could drive to the dealership as long as I didn’t go above 50 mph (surprisingly, that was the most difficult task of my day). I made it there about a half hour before they closed, and the usual crew (I’m becoming a regular there) came and checked out the tire. They told me it looks like a pothole did the damage, so I’ll take my tire reimbursement via check, Mr. Peduto.

Since the service department was closed, they told me to leave the car there and they’d try to get someone in service to get a new tire on it first thing in the morning and the courtesy shuttle would pick me up to retrieve it. However, the shuttle was gone for the day, they didn’t have a loaner car available, and I didn’t have another way to get home. Being the super nice crew of guys that they are, one of the sales guys offered to drive me home in his personal vehicle on his way home. Which, hello. How often does that happen? It’s not even like Smokey Robinson’s lease is almost up and they want me to lease a new Mini; I just got him. They have almost three years before my lease is up. And yet, they went the extra mile and dropped me off at my door just to keep a customer happy. That’s pretty cool, right?

So the big plans that I had for tomorrow are tentatively on hold, since I don’t know when I’ll be able to pick up my car with a new front tire. I told them I need the car early, like 8, so I’m managing my expectations and crossing my fingers for 10 am. And if it doesn’t work out that way, then at least I have the day off tomorrow, so I can sleep in. It’s not exactly a win-win situation, but it’ll do.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TBT: Flat Tire Edition

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    I had my car in the shop for two days because of a dead battery. Btw duct tape for a flat? Yet another use for it. 🙂 how much air does a mini tire hold anyway?

    Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Duct tape. The super-glue of the tape world. If duct tape doesn’t fix it, throw it away.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      … which is exactly what they’re doing with my old tire… and which is exactly what I’m doing with my money to get it fixed (to the tune of $350 for ONE tire!). Ugh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

