Cleaning Machine

Cleaning Machine

I have no idea what’s gotten into me, but every day I come home and the first thing I want to do is clean. (If anyone reading this has actually seen my house on a normal day, try not to choke on your laughter.)

It started on Sunday when I started reorganizing some things around the house and fixing minor issues in order to start the work week on the right foot. It felt really good to get so much done, and I barely recognized the house when I woke up on Monday morning.

Energized by the “new” house I woke up to, I set up some tasks for myself to complete last night after the gym – wash dishes, take out garbage, clean out my dresser and put things in a donate bag (or bags, as there were several), sweep the floors, clean the bathroom, empty the basement dehumidifier, and take out one box of junk from the basement.

Now, most of you probably don’t know it, but I’m pretty much terrified of my basement. It’s dark and messy and it seems like every time I go downstairs I find something with multiple legs on the walls or on the floor (or in my friggin clothes dryer, which happened a few weeks ago). I don’t like anything that has more than 4 legs, and these creatures… well, the least amount of legs I’ve seen is 8. That means I try very hard to not go downstairs to the basement, and especially not at night (the walls seem to come alive at night). Anyway, this means that when I moved in, and in the eight years since, if I’ve had to put something in storage downstairs, I just dumped a box in the center of the room and then ran like a sissy back up the stairs. Recently it occurred to me that there are a lot of boxes downstairs, and since I haven’t felt the need to poke around inside them for the past eight years or so, they could probably be thrown out. So I now have a new goal: slowly and methodically clean up the basement.

Yesterday’s goal of removing just one box from the basement was just blown out of the water as I went through and pitched about four boxes. I grabbed some storage bins from Target for the stuff I wanted to keep, but out of those four boxes, I only kept about a half a box (grad school books and materials).

Today I set another long list of tasks to complete, and I was a little more ambitious. I filled up an entire big black trash bag with junk and then threw out two more boxes of crap. Plus, I determined that all the leftover paint from the previous owners can go bye-bye since none of the original paint exists (ugh, pepto pink in the bedroom, I still have nightmares about that). Today the only things remaining from the big bag and boxes of stuff are the items contained in the small crate in the picture – a few of my photos that have been framed and an xray (because xrays are cool).

So while today’s picture might look like a disaster zone, trust me when I say that it’s a huge improvement over how it looked on Sunday. Plus, if I keep this up (I’m aiming for spending 20 minutes cleaning downstairs every day), my garbage men are going to hate me, but I’m going to have a very empty basement by the time October rolls around with its early darkness.

Slow and steady wins the race and cleans the basement, friends!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cleaning Machine

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    The Human Vacuum basement bug dance. 🙂

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Ugh, don’t remind me. Sounds funny, but it’s not. Not to me while it’s happening, anyway.

      Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Believe me, I understand insect phobias. I remember you telling me about the bee hive that was in your bedroom when you were a kid. If that were me, even to this day, I’d have to move. I’ve been in my place now for about seven or eight years, and if I ever encountered a bee/wasp, I’d probably have to stay at a hotel.

        My first place when I was at Pitt in the late 90s/early 00s was a basement apartment. Therefore, I became immune to spiders and the things with many legs. But, mostly, they suck.

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        Ugh, I can’t even. ::shudders::

        Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Well kudos for your bravery and cleaning prowess.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

