#TBT: How Do I Turn This Thing On?

TBT: How Do I Turn This Thing On?

The basement throwback-to-2003 party continued this evening with more boxes and bags prepped for trash and only one storage bin full of books to keep. I’ve started a “curb donation” corner filled with lamps and other miscellaneous items that I’m sure a random passerby will take if I leave them at the curb. The perimeter of the basement is mostly clear at this point (save for the curb donation corner), and everything is pretty much gathered into the middle of the room. One part of the basement hasn’t been touched yet, but most of those boxes are Christmas decorations and the like that will probably be kept. The garbage pile is expanding exponentially, and since I don’t have anywhere else to put the stuff, I’m keeping it all downstairs until garbage day. If all continues to go well, my garbage pile and my “keep” pile will be pretty equal by the time Tuesday morning rolls around. Getting rid of 50% of the crap in the basement is a pretty big feat when you’re terrified to go downstairs. 🙂

As part of the 2003 time capsule I seem to have unearthed yesterday and today, I found an old Motorola flip phone (and its manual, mysteriously in a separate box) and a few floppy discs. I *think* this one has my grad school dissertation on it, but I don’t know how I could possibly check that anymore (sad). Out of curiosity, I flipped open the phone just to see if it held some sort of miracle charge, but it didn’t… or rather, I don’t think it did. I can’t actually figure out how I turned it on back in the day. I’m sure if I opened up that manual, I could probably figure it out, but nahhhh.

I’m actually tempted to keep the phone – sometimes I get tired of constantly being connected to work emails, etc., and it’d be nice to have an excuse to be off the grid for a few hours every night. Maybe I’ll just take it to work and pretend to use it so that my bosses think I’ve gone old school. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #TBT: How Do I Turn This Thing On?

  1. maryaquino says:

    Shouldn’t that be “old skool”? BTW, my boss said to me today that I have no reason to connect my phone and my work email…and thus I will not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

