A Life In Boxes

A Life In Boxes

Ta-daaaaa!

The Great Basement Cleanout of 2015 has [mostly] reached its finale. There are still a few little things (paint cans and the scary area under the stairs) that need to be shipped out or cleaned up, but for the most part, all the heavy lifting has been done.

Today I finished up going through all the cardboard boxes and transferred all of the “keep” items to plastic storage containers. What’s shown in the picture is all that’s left, minus three boxes of Christmas decorations and one box of old tax returns/pay stubs/etc because I’m a bit of a hoarder. I’m also keeping a small filing cabinet (empty), a wire rack (empty), and a three-drawer plastic storage container (also empty). In terms of furnishings, I’m keeping only an end table (until I get my aunt’s blessing to donate it, since it was hers to begin with) and two table lamps. I still have an 8’x10′ rug rolled up near the stairs, but that’s going to stick around a while longer. Who knows, maybe I’ll put it down in the basement.

All of the garbage has been moved to the curb for pickup tomorrow – fingers crossed that they’ll take it all. The trail of trash leads from the corner of my driveway almost to my neighbor’s driveway; it’s pretty impressive. I also put in a request for a van to pick up my donation-worthy items – some clothing, bedding, paintings and other artwork, some housewares stuff, two coffee makers, and three desk lamps. Right now, the outside of my house looks like a disaster zone, but the inside actually looks clean and somewhat-empty. It’s weird, but I actually feel a lot… lighter.

I didn’t expect to have a lot of fun cleaning out the basement, but that’s exactly what I got. I’m actually a little disappointed I won’t have anything else to clean out tomorrow evening. Well, that’s until I get started on purging the upstairs part of the house… šŸ˜‰

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Life In Boxes

  1. maryaquino says:

    Did I mention you’re hired?

    Like

Leave a Reply

