Scrub A Dub Dub

Scrub A Dub Dub

After putting the finishing touches on the basement boxes (duct tape labels so I know what’s in each of the boxes), I was temporarily at a loss for things to do to keep myself busy. That’s what I’ve figured out is driving this insanity – a crazy amount of nervous energy. If I stop for more than a few minutes, I get this anxious feeling in my chest and it makes me want to vomit… but if I keep going, and I keep finding things to keep me busy, that feeling doesn’t present itself. Sure, it’s probably not the healthiest thing ever, but at least it’s manifesting itself in a productive way. 😉

Anyway, I thought about it all of about 30 seconds before I dove into the next project – scrubbing the bathroom from top to bottom. Like, literally, scrubbing. From top (the ceiling). To bottom (the floors). And all the parts in between (the walls). I scrubbed all the surfaces, including the scary area behind the toilet (you never know what’s lurking there, waiting for a hand to crawl onto), the toilet itself (inside AND outside), and even the door and the door frame. I was actually up on a ladder to scrub the ceiling and the upper walls, and then down on my knees to scrub the floor. The shower curtains were washed, and I cleaned the curtain rods and the shower curtain hooks. The entire bathroom now smells like peppermint Dr. Bronner’s, which is a very good thing.

Once I finished scrubbing all the things, I had a little energy to spare, so I filled up a plastic storage box with clothes I haven’t worn in a while and took that downstairs to the basement (and labeled it, of course). From there, I reorganized all my spare blankets in the bedroom and made them easily-accessible for the cold nights to come (barf). I also did all the laundry and changed the sheets and towels. Eventually, I got bored and my energy dissipated, so from then on I was free to chill out for a little bit.

The best part of the day, besides the scrubbing, was when the Vietnam Vets people came to take away my donations and when the Waste Management truck rolled up to take away all my trash. I had a bit of anxiety about the garbage truck – what if they didn’t take everything? – but I needn’t have worried. One minute everything was strewn about the curb and the breezeway; the next, everything was gone. I felt so much better after everything was picked up, and the breezeway looked gosh darn empty. No regrets, though.

Who knows what I’ll get myself into tomorrow… it’d be nice if I could focus all this energy on work, or at least on yardwork. At this point, I’m afraid I won’t be able to control myself and I’ll go buy paint on the way home and start painting random rooms. Oy, I’m a mess (but my house isn’t).

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

