Dehydrated Pizza

Dehydrated Pizza

So. I’ve decided I’m delusional enough to make myself believe that these here dehydrated tomatoes taste like pizza. I might have problems.

I’d intended to make jerky for my first foray into Excalibur dehydrating, but there are no great sales on meat right now, so instead I opted for dried tomatoes and pineapple. I threw both of them in the dehydrator right before bed and they were mostly (but not quite) done when I left for work. Since I splurged for the model that has a temperature gauge and a timer, I simply set the timer for two more hours and headed out to work. When I got home? Presto – dehydrated pineapple slices and “pizza.”

No joke, though, the spice mixture of basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, garlic, sea salt, and pepper that I used on the tomatoes makes them taste like pizza. So much so that I ended up eating almost a third of the bowl as soon as I’d snapped today’s picture – that equates to nearly a pint of grape tomatoes. Sure, dried tomatoes are certainly healthier than potato chips, but too much of anything isn’t a good thing… especially since I tend to break out in hives if I eat too many tomatoes at once.

This Excalibur thing might be dangerous. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

