With Friends Like These

With Friends Like These

Over the past few months, my friends at work have seen me go from happy-go-lucky to always tense and anxious. From what I understand, that’s to be expected with a new job. Add in some other fairly decent-sized life changes (not everything is on the blog, you know), and I’ve been kind of a hot mess. So for weeks, my friends have been trying to convince me to go hang out after work – go to a movie, go out to eat, go to happy hour, whatever. And for weeks, things have been too crazy.

Today I was reminded that I’d kept promising we’d go out, but with an upcoming business trip and some new projects at work, I tried to cancel again. Fortunately, my friends just weren’t having it. Happy hour became mandatory today.

I don’t think I’ve said this lately, and I feel like I need to remember it more often: I love my friends. So much. I love that they know when I’m just about on the brink of snapping, and that they can practically force me to go have fun. I love that even when I try to resist and it feels like everything’s falling apart, they’re still able to make me laugh. They’re some of the few people who can make me bust out laughing for seemingly no reason, and even when I’m mad at the world, I can’t be mad at them. I love that sometimes, even though it may inconvenience them a little, they’ll go out of their way for me even when I try to tell them not to… and I need to remember to return that favor more often.

So tonight, as you may have gathered, we went to happy hour. Initially we’d planned for Täkō, and then we moved it to Butcher and the Rye… but in the end, we wound up hanging at Round Corner Cantina. We got tacos and margaritas and acted like fools for a little… and work hardly crossed my mind. Two margaritas later, I couldn’t feel my hands and I was more relaxed than I’ve been in months. It was fantastic. Even the ride home was fun – we turned up the bass in my friend’s car and rolled down the street blasting 90s rap and car-dancing. Well, ok, only the person in the back seat was car-dancing (me). Everyone else was hiding their faces from passersby.  😉

The moral of this story is, I need to remember to take more time to just hang out with friends – it’s always worth it, even if it seems like it’ll throw me off schedule.

Also, I may need to start bringing margaritas to work. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

