Emerald City

Emerald City

You know, I think my problems with work lately have occurred because I haven’t had a chance to meet any of my customers in person until today (for this job). Today that changed, as I’m onsite in Seattle for a kickoff presentation – the first that I’ve done. I lucked out and I didn’t have any talking points for today (tomorrow and Wednesday are pretty much all me), but we did head to dinner with some representatives from the customer. Unknowingly, I ended up sitting directly across from the person that’s my counterpart at the customer, and we hit it off big time. Like, we have so much in common and we had so much fun… as we sipped on Kentucky Mules with house-made ginger-infused whiskey. It wasn’t until my cheeks hurt, about two hours into drinks/dinner that I asked the person what they do and they told me they do the customer’s side of my job. Based on dinner alone, I’m much less nervous about tomorrow than I was a few short hours ago. So far, I love them, and they seem to love me. (Then again, I can be the life of the party after a drink or two!)

The kickoff didn’t start until 1, though, and no one needed me onsite before then, so I decided to do some more exploring. The first place I went was for some iced coffee, obviously. Seattle is famous for their coffee, and I’m determined to not get Starbucks until the last day (if at all). I stopped at a place called Vince’s Coffee and got the most amazing iced Maui Macadamia Mocha latte ever. I’m not big on sweet coffee, but when in Rome… The worker was super-friendly and gave me lots of recommendations, and I walked away with an amazing drink. Can’t ask for much more than that…

Or can I? My next stop was Downtown Seattle, where I grabbed a slice of Tom Douglas’s triple coconut cream pie at Dahlia Bakery before busting my tail to get to Green Leaf for some of the best Vietnamese lunch I’ve ever had. And bust my butt, I did. I ended up parking nearly a mile away from the restaurant (hey, I have no idea where I am!), and I had about 45 minutes to get from from my car to Dahlia Bakery, then to Green Leaf, and back to my car before I had to head back to Kent for work. Needless to say, there was a lot of running involved. I looked at it as “creating a deficit” for the pie and also for the dinner we were planning for the evening. I have yet to tuck into the pie, but when I told my customer people about it, they were jealous. I’m pretty stoked. And the Green Leaf lunch? The vermicelli noodles were worth the running and the panic.

On the way to/from Green Leaf, I passed by the Space Needle, so I took a picture. I’m not entirely sure I’ll have time to ascend to the top, but having gotten this close, I’m A-OK with it if I don’t. Besides, I have other places that are more important to visit. Like restaurants. Duh.

Anyway. eventually I made it back to the car, then back to the hotel room to change, and then to the meeting location. I got to take it easy today, but I won’t have the same luck tomorrow. Oh well, I guess they paid for me to come out here to work, and not to eat. 😉 We had a grand ole time at dinner, though, and the Kentucky Mules were fantastic. House-infused ginger whiskey is the bombdotcom. On my drive back to the hotel after dinner, I came across the prostitution sign above, and I laughed so hard that I had to make a U-turn to go back and take a picture. They just don’t have signs like that in Pittsburgh!

I’m about to head out for a quick run to clear my head a little, and then I’m hoping to get at least a little sleep before the nerves get to me.

Wish me luck tomorrow (and Wednesday!) and have a great night/day!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emerald City

  1. maryaquino says:

    Of course, best of luck!

    FYI, the Space Needle USED to have a restaurant at the top that made one full revolution while you ate. Been there once. Don’t recall if the food was awesome (way before the focus on food was paramount in life) but the view was awesome. And, the mountain was out…so I could see Ranier in the distance. Too friggin gorgeous.

    Enjoy your time there – so glad your customer is cool and you’re feeling good about the presentation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

