Sleepless In Seattle


What an exhausting day!

Today was my first day in the “big leagues,” and it didn’t really go as planned. It wasn’t my fault – we were ready on our side – but it was a little discouraging. I am, however, glad that I got part of my first kickoff under my belt; now hopefully I won’t be as much of a wreck for the next one. Also, based on today’s outcome, my meetings for tomorrow were canceled, so I have some unplanned free time coming to me. Rock. On.

At lunch today, my teammates were discussing possibly going into Downtown Seattle for dinner, so I mentioned that I had plans to do the same. Once they saw my spreadsheet of places to eat and my Google Maps with the restaurants and nearby tourist attractions mapped out, I was put in charge of our evening. That’s exactly how I like it – that way I get to do exactly what I want, but other people get what they want as well because they don’t have to think about it and make decisions. I should really get into the tourism industry, no?

I had a little time to kill before we left, so I took a walk along a highway to clear my head a little bit. Along the way, I found some blackberries. They found their way into my mouth. 🙂

Once we headed out to dinner, the plan was pretty straightforward – doughnuts, drinks, dinner, and the Space Needle.

Doughnuts were from Top Pot Doughnuts, which seem to be pretty famous around the Seattle area. We all got two to go, so at least we’re all set for breakfast tomorrow. I walked away with an apple fritter and a cinnamon bun doughnut, and I took a bite out of each before leaving the shop. Not too shabby. I’m not big on doughnuts, but they were pretty good. They’ll go well with coffee in the morning.

Drinks were at a place called Radiator Whiskey, which is on an upper floor of a building just outside of Pike Place Market. It took us f-o-r-e-v-e-r to find, because we weren’t thinking we’d need to climb stairs. Once we got inside, it was packed, so there was a bit of a wait. We all got different drinks; I chose the smoked maple old fashioned. It was pretty darn legit. The others liked their drinks as well.

Dinner was highly exciting for me – we headed to The Whale Wins, which is headed by a chef nominated for a James Beard award. We chose to get a bunch of plates to share – we started with the bread and a cheese plate with raspberry jam, then moved to the peppers and cheese small plate (which was amazing – it had a caper aioli that was just phenomenol), and then we shared the main entrees for the clams and the half a chicken, followed by the zucchini bread with creme fraiche for dessert. Between the four of us, it was a perfect amount of food. My favorite part was the peppers and cheese small plate, but the clams were a close second place. Everything we had was really good, and for $150 including tip for 4 people, it wasn’t terribly priced.

Our last stop of the night was supposed to be the Space Needle, but it was going to be closed by the time we got there. Instead, we stopped nearby and snapped pictures of each other in front of it… and then someone got the brilliant idea to head to Kerry Park. I’d never even read about Kerry Park, so I was pleasantly surprised with the view – you can see all of Seattle from there! Also, parking was very simple there. Kerry Park is way underrated.

Eventually, we made it back to our respective hotels, and I was so thankful that we carpooled and I didn’t have to worry about driving. I’m so darn tired, I don’t know how I stayed up to write this post. Thank goodness I get a bit of a break tomorrow (and again on Friday – vacation day, w00t!). 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleepless In Seattle

  1. maryaquino says:

    Thanks for sharing your day – I’m stuck at home (will be traveling in a couple of weeks, but stuck here for now) and am a tad run down due to several days of puppy sleep deprivation. Hope today goes well, and that (of course) you enjoy your vacation day…I’m assuming in Seattle…take lots of pictures and maybe a “Five Things Friday” that is sorta past-tense? Just an idea….Be safe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

