What A Racquet

What A Racquet

Last month while I was cleaning out the basement, I ran across my old racquetball racquet, from years ago. I knew I’d had one before, so it annoyed me that I had to go buy one in July because I couldn’t find my old one. Turns out that was because it was tucked away in a box with all my other stuff from 2009, shacking up with my old tennis equipment.

I finally remembered to take it with me to the gym tonight, figuring I’d give it a go to see if it gave me any magical racquetball powers.

It did not.

Like, not at all.

It was the opposite of good, in every way.

The racquet just felt wrong in my hands, and I kept hitting the ball in this weird way that caused the ball to bounce up and behind me instead of straight out in front of me. I think it kept hitting the lip of the racquet, because when the ball did go straight, it always veered to the side (which means it didn’t really go straight, but whatever). I’m thinking that either the “lip” of the racquet is bigger, or the racquet itself is bigger than the one I’ve been using for the past couple months – I even ran into the walls a lot more tonight. The old racquet did not make for a great night of playing.

I think I’ll be switching back to my newer one from now on…  but if I need to do any sort of trick work and make the ball mysteriously bounce behind me when its momentum clearly determines it should go forward, I’ll keep the old racquet in the car for easy access.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

