High Contrast

High Contrast

Today started off nicely enough when I decided to get off the bus a stop early and pop into Umbrella Cafe for a beet juice supplement to my breakfast smoothie. I ordered the “Beetlejuice” juice blend (your standard beets/apples/carrots/ginger blend) and was supremely satisfied with myself for starting my day off with some beets. If nothing else, I rationalized, I’ve gotten some veggies into my system.

Later on in the day, I was in charge of giving a 5-hour-long presentation to a customer, so I knew my lunch and snack situation would be precarious at best. When the presentation finally ended, I grabbed my apple and mosied over to my old group for a break and to see how things were going. Turns out, they were all geared up for an organization-wide happy hour.

Since I’m no longer part of that organization, I wasn’t invited… but one of my friends was planning on going and not drinking, so he offered up his drink tickets to me. So I tagged along and snuck in… and then got caught. But lucky for me, I still have a really really good relationship with everyone in the old group, and they treated me like an honorary member of the team (this, a mere hour after my old boss tried to entice me to come back). I received my own drink tickets instead of having to steal the ones from my friend, and I proceeded to party my face off. Okay, maybe not so much, seeing as it’s a Wednesday, but I did have a couple Captain and gingers. What a contrast from the beet juice that started my day!

We were actually the last of the group to leave, and as we left, I noticed my bag and my jacket were gone. My bag had my keys in it, in addition to my work laptop. Immediately, I began to panic internally, but I still retained a cool head to my friends. Knowing that a small group went to a nearby bar, we checked there. After a lot of searching and a lot of interrogating random co-workers, we found my bag (with the laptop and keys), but no jacket was found. Honestly, I was so thrilled that we found the bag that I just didn’t care.

I’m hoping that tomorrow I see an email from one of the organizers asking if anyone lost a jacket, but I’m not going to hold my breath. I’m considering it lucky that the bag was recovered, but it’s suspect that the jacket wasn’t found alongside it since the jacket was draped over top of the bag at the first bar.

Ah well, at least I have all of the “important” things and my friends and I were able to make it home safely. That’s all that really matters, right?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

